Grow Diaries 2024 #19: 9 Weeks of Quick One

Disclaimer:

This post is about medical/recreational cannabis.
I recommend you don't use it.
It could be illegal in your country.
Be careful!


IMG_20240903_081423.jpg

From now on, this is plant 'no.2'. (taller)


9 weeks

Exactly 63 days ago, I popped these seeds. (Quick One from RoyalQueenSeeds)
So, today they turn 9 weeks old.
...which is when the breeder claimed, these would be finished.
That is not the case, but it's not too far off.
At least for the top bud, this looks like late stage flower.
I have seen enough, to give these seeds a preliminary review.

Germination

2/2:
Germinated perfectly fine. 100% success

Uniformity

10/10:
The plants look exactly the same, are in the exact same stage of growth.
One is taller than the other, but that's most likely due to an accident, not genetics.

Terpenes

10/10:
While the bouquet may change during drying and curing, they smell fantastic right now.
Fruity and sweet... and strong.
I thought I would not like this type of flower, but now that I smell it all the time, it seems to grow on me. Very pleasant.

Resistance

?/10 - Inconclusive...
Quick One seems to repell the aphids better than the other plant I have.
But that's not enough to come to any conclusion.
It has no signs of mould.
The plants seem very healthy and were not at all affected by high humidity.
So far it looks like a high score, but I have no comparison.

Yield

?/10 - Inconclusive...
With plants this size, I simply can not expect record yields.
The conditions on the balcony aren't perfect. It's just what I have to work with.
Given that these are autos and that they have a low profile, I can't complain.
So far it looks like a higher mid score.
Nothing spectacular... but I have nothing to compare it to.
They did respond well to the compost and general conditions I grow them in.

Looks

9/10
I wish they were a bit denser.
They sure are nice to look at, though.
I think, it's quite a pretty plant, with a good structure to it.

Preliminary Conclusion

8/10 - Can recommend
I deducted 1 point for the false claim of '9 weeks'.
While they are fast, they are not finished, at all.
But all seedbanks do that and you can always add 1-2 weeks to everything they claim.
The rest is everything I expected... and more.
I like the low profile and will give them larger pots next season - They won't grow too tall.
They are ideal for stealthy grows, which is exactly what I wanted.
They tolerated those aphids and powered right through any stress that may have caused.
I am very impressed how uniform they are.


IMG_20240903_082442.jpg

This is plant 'no.1'. (smaller)


Harvest

Until the buds are harvested, dried and cured, I can not give a conclusive review.

I will give plant no.1 another week and then I will harvest the top bud.
Not because it's finished, but because it smells.
I feel sorry for my neighbors, because I am sure they can all smell it, all the time.

I will give plant no.2 the time it may need and wait as long as I have to.

I will harvest both in stages, as the top bud is so much further developed.
That's because I never topped or trained these plants. I expected that result.
It's also because the light on the balcony is a bit inconsistent - The top gets more sunlight hours than the bottom parts. (as you may see in the photo)

Final Thoughts

These plants have done so well, that I will stick to autos from now on.
Initially, I thought, I'd prefer photoperiodic.
I heard a lot of bad things about autos.
For my circumstances here, autos are far superior, though.

Legally

I can only have 3 plants and up to 50g of dried flower, legally.
With autos, I can harvest multiple times in a year, even rotate.
With photos, I am bound to the seasons. I can only harvest in autumn and all at once.
Under these conditions, I can harvest more with autos, even though their yield may be much lower, individually, and of poorer quality.

Organically

Growing outdoors, under sunlight only, these autos are the better option.
I can have them flower in the height of summer, when the sun is powerful and the days are long.
They finish quickly and can simply outgrow stressors like pests and mould.
I don't have to worry about light pollution.


I am very happy with these seeds.
Let's hope the plants dry and smoke well.

I am very much looking forward to the final review. 😁

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center