Fungi Friday - Amanita Muscaria

Hi Mushroom lovers, I hope you ave a great day!

This is a pretty common mushroom in the Netherlands, but also one that speaks to imagination. It is one of the mushrooms people like photographing the most. It's distinct red color and white dots makes it easily stand out between all other mushrooms.

Without knowing a lot about mushrooms, it must be obvious the colors of this mushroom should be interpreted as a warning. Red = Danger. And indeed this mushroom is toxic.

While searching the internet about this iconic "Mario Mushroom" I came across an interesting article describing its folklore and psychedelic aspects.

I would definitely not recommend trying any of this, but I found it an interesting read.

IMG_6848-Edit-Edit.jpg
Amanita Muscaria or Fly Agaric

I hope you like my contribution to #FungiFriday by @ewkaw for this weeks Fungi Friday.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
37 Comments