Fungi Friday Finds and Delicious Stuffed Mushroom Recipe

Embarking on a journey to a woodland, a mere five miles from the comfort of my home, I found myself in the presence of a familiar type of fungi.

I learned about orange lichen from last week's post. They don't harm the tree, and when I pass by one, I appreciate its beauty.

I saw next the artist's conk growing on the big stump by the stream.

Its seemingly humble appearance hides a wealth of uses and medicinal benefits, some of which might surprise you.

The Birch Polypore followed. This is a very useful fungus with amazing medicinal benefits; its spongy white appearance when young is great for carving.

Have you heard about the mummy called Otzi? also known as the Iceman? He is a well-preserved natural mummy of a man who lived around 3,300 BCE. His body was discovered in September 1991 in the ร–tztal Alps on the border between Austria and Italy, hence his nickname.

Well, Otzi was carrying a pendant with a piece of Birch Polypore. This fungus has antibacterial properties and might have been used for medicinal purposes. It is believed that ร–tzi carried it as a natural first aid kit.

I walked further and found Elder whitewash (Hyphodontia sambuca). This white-rot fungi breaks down the lignin in wood, leaving the cellulose for other organisms to feed on and biodegrade, which is how clever nature is.

They only grow on fallen branches, bark, or dead parts of trees, including elders and other hosts.

I went home and quickly knocked up a treat: a stuffed mushroom to finish my hunt.

Bought from The local supermarket ;)

I brushed them with extra virgin olive oil.

I stir-fried some minced beef with bell peppers, spring onion, salt, and pepper.

I spread it on top of the mushrooms.

I crushed some Doritos.

Sprinkled it over the minced beef.

I grated lots of cheese on top.

Cheezy!

Then, in the oven for 10 minutes at gas mark 7

Garnished with chive and coriander, drizzled with extra virgin olive oil, and sprinkled with a seasoning (dried chilies, paprika, crispy onions, and crispy garlic!).

Ohh, so yum!

Meaty mushrooms are layered with tasty beef, then crisp crumbs and crusty cheese. All of this went well together, and we all had a happy and satisfied Fungi Friday!

Hope you all had a good one!
Mariah ๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ˜Š

This post is dedicated to @fungifriday by @ewkaw and to all fungi friends here. ๐Ÿ’—

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center