FungiFriday - ashes and tiny green cities

DSC_8277 copy.jpg


The terribly hot week in Portugal is resulting in nearby fires. There haven't been many of them this year yet. At least comparing to previous years, but they always occur in summer. In the fall, when you drive through the countryside, you get to see black burned patches and skeletons of trees sticking out from ashes. Quite a depressing view...

I look at the window now, and I see heavy, grey smoke in the sky...
Summer sucks.
Sucks big time!

DSC_8276 copy.jpg


What does it have to do with #Fungifriday and today's post?
Abso-fucking-lutely nothing.

But I look at the photos of a humid, cool forest, and it almost seems unreal. It was last year in Poland that I took those photos. As most of the mushrooms I post anyway. Multiple trips to the woods to cool and reset the brain in silence always fill my camera memory card. It is nice to go back to them, especially when outside is hell.


DSC_8274 copy.jpg

DSC_8275 copy.jpg


The light peaking through the trees at this time of the year is nice. Much softer and lower angle gives these nice, long shadows too.

DSC_8261 copy.jpgDSC_8262 copy.jpg



Few more mushrooms I found close to the path.


DSC_8272 copy.jpg

DSC_8278 copy.jpg


And of course Lichens. There is never enough of lichens! And they are absolutely everywhere :)

DSC_8264 copy.jpg


I absolutely love how they take over the moist, rotten wood, creating these tiny little worlds of their own.


DSC_8265 copy.jpg

DSC_8266 copy.jpg

DSC_8267 copy.jpg


Enough of that... time to keep on walking.

DSC_8263 copy.jpg



How to join #FungiFriday:

  • when Friday comes (UTC time) post your own, original photo/drawing/art/food/anything-at-all of any type of fungi (yes, I will check and report stolen images or text!)
  • add #FungiFriday tag (it doesn't have to be your first tag)
  • Include "My contribution to #FungiFriday by @ewkaw" anywhere in your post.

Happy FungiFriday!

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos, graphics and text are my own.



mushrooms footer.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments