Respect is reciprocal

You know, respect has been on my mind a lot lately. It's something that we all desire, isn't it? However, it's not always simple to give or receive. There was this man, let's call him Mike, at work one time that I remember. Mike was truly a detestable man ,Talking over other individuals in meetings, stealing ideas from others, that kind of stuff. To be honest, I found him to be unbearable.

Source

I first made an effort to give as good as I received. If he made a crude remark, I would respond with one of my own. I'd roll my eyes at his ideas, and he would dismiss mine. It resembled this pointless little conflict we were engaged in. However, what's the deal? It was draining. It was also not improving anything. I'm not sure what got into me, but one day I made the decision to give something new a shot. Rather of giving Mike the silent treatment when he walked in, I said good morning. questioned him about his weekend. His expression seemed as if he was waiting for a joke or something. You should have seen it.

It wasn't a sudden shift or anything. But things began to change gradually, bit by bit. When I talked in meetings, he would truly pay attention. He would sometimes even support my theories. Indeed, there were moments when he would revert to his previous behaviors, but they had changed. I started to consider the idea that "respect is reciprocal" after reading it. I assume we've all heard of it. Living it, however, is a another story. We all desire respect, it seems. We believe we are worthy of it. However, how frequently do we pause and consider whether we're providing it? Not only simple civility, though that's a part of it, either. Really, I mean, respecting people. heeding their words. appreciating their viewpoints, especially when we disagree

And let's face it, things aren't always simple. There are some persons in the world that are extremely difficult to respect. People who are obnoxious, self-centered, or just plain cruel. Furthermore, the last thing you want to do is treat someone with respect when they're treating you like trash. However, I've discovered that sometimes you have to be the one to end the cycle. Being the larger person, you must put respect before all else. Yes, occasionally it will blow up in your face. No matter what you do, there are folks that just won't reciprocate. However, the majority of the time, once you begin to show that respect, you begin to receive it in return. It has a strange, magical quality to it.

It's not simple, mind you. Sometimes I still want to roll my eyes at my conceited cousin or yell at that unpleasant coworker. I do, nonetheless, try to catch myself. I attempt to keep in mind the entire "do unto others" concept. Furthermore, what do you know? It has greatly improved my quality of life. My connections are more solid. There is less tension at work. Throughout the day, I even notice that tiny things irritate me less.

So yeah, respect is reciprocal. But sometimes, you gotta be the one to kick-start that reciprocation. It's not always easy, and it doesn't always work right away. But in my experience? It's worth it.

Next time you're dealing with someone difficult, try it out. Show them a little respect, even if they haven't earned it yet. You might be surprised at what happens. And even if they don't change, hey - at least you know you did your part. You can hold your head high knowing you're putting good vibes out into the world.

'Cause at the end of the day, isn't that what we all want? A world where people treat each other with a little more kindness, a little more understanding, a little more respect? I think so. And it's gotta start somewhere. Why not with us?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center