Some Stranger's Backyard Tour

I know it has been a week or so but on Saturday I took time off the usual chaotic parenting routine to take a friend to her son's in laws to pay for the dowry of his wife. Traditionally this is done to get a woman's parents blessings for one to then be allowed get married either customarily or wed in a church or both.

Because of who I am and of what I believe in, I sort of ran away from the whole patriarchal process to go get my feminist self a breath of fresh air and in doing that, I was taken the environment I was in. For context, I live in a crowded middle class hood so anywhere with what has been captured here definitely sweeps my visual tastebuds of their feet 🙃

IMG-20210612-WA0001.jpg

these wild sisal plants were the first capture and were scattered in their backyard which is where I was busy exploring.

IMG-20210612-WA0002.jpg

death glared right back... that green can turn into earth brown and wither back to the same soil it sprouted from... we definitely all go back to the creator... to the all.

IMG-20210612-WA0003.jpg

as everyone else in her tribe minded their business, she glared back at my lenses... like go ahead stranger, state your business here.

IMG-20210612-WA0004.jpg

intimidation works on your kind buddy... try some other territory.

IMG-20210612-WA0005.jpg

and so I left her territory in peace and turned left to find this huggable acacia shrub smiling back at my dark thoughts.

IMG-20210612-WA0006.jpg

only to find this beauty dancing in the wind a few steps ahead of it (one can literally see it's blurred thorny figure in the background)... does that seem profound to anyone else but me?... probably I am just reaching for positivity.

IMG-20210612-WA0008.jpg

onto the weirdness of nature showing off in what I was told is a common weed there... the fur covered fruit is what drew me to it.

IMG-20210612-WA0007.jpg

fragility dances with beauty against the cold breeze blowing from the mountains nearby... yes?

IMG-20210612-WA0009.jpg

when where you live there are not crop thieves and all you need is acacia branches heaped into short cute fences to keep the animals out.

IMG-20210612-WA0000.jpg

and still that can never stop flowers from mingling with the dead deadly thorns... and there I was again smiling at the lessons nature keeps throwing at us.

End of the tour. Images taken with a Redmi Note 9 Pro.

wambuku w.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center