A park full of stone statues from the 1890s

This is my late entry to the photo contest by @friendlymoose who posts a new topic every week. This week it was statues.

@friendlymoose/pobphotocontest-new-round-statues

#POBPhotocontest

I was thinking for a long time what kind of photos to post. First, I thought maybe some film photo would do... then I thought, hmm, infrared would be interesting with its dreamy look... in the end, I created a tour around the statues using some photos that I took with my phone (while cursing that I didn't manage to look for better alternatives).

The statues below can be seen in the park around a manor not far from where I live. They are open to public throughout the year. Time has left its mark on them, and the stone surface is coated in lichens. Some of the statues have required renovations, but on the whole, they look really well given that they date to the late 19th century.

The statues are aligned in an arch around the widening of the river passing through the manour. First, we have "Autumn", created in 1893.

Next, we have "Spring" from 1895. Most of the photos turned out pretty bland.

The next statue is the "Biblical girl". The year of its creation is not given.

As I said in the beginning, the hand of time has been harsh, and they have received plenty of scars. The hand of "Athena Nike - the victory giver " is missing. It is actually one of my favourite statues in the park.

Her pedestal getting worn out.

And it looks as if the lichens are forming a lake where she is dipping her toes.

I'm amazed at the details in her robe. This is my entry into the contest.

The next statue is the "Fisher girl" from 1890.

Her face has needed restauration.

The texture on her arm is quite creepy.

My other favourite is "Vanity". She really is pretty, just a mirror is missing in her hand.

The last statue of the series is the "Hesitating Venus".

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center