Cold (but not frozen) in Mexico - POB Photo Contest

Up until a week ago I was living in Berlin, from where I just returned to Mexico City. Since then Germany has experienced a fierce start of Winter weather, with plenty of snow, ice, and subzero temperatures, wrecking all kinds of havoc on traffic infrastructure. Even before I left I could feel it coming, though it was nothing compared with what was about to hit them. The snow was merely symbolic on the window sills and parked cars, still the cold wind bothered me sufficiently to make me really look forward to getting back to Mexico.

P_20231206_143550.jpg

Here, while the weather is considered "cold", it's hardly as severe. At night the temperatures may dip below 10°C (50°F) but throughout the day a decent 17-20°C (63-68°F) are pretty much normal. Still, it is officially Winter, and people do act accordingly. Warm jackets are common, even though I was getting uncomfortably hot walking around just in my hoodie. (Yeah, this is where you can make jokes about the rugged Nordic folks being resistent to the cold! Not true, but I keep hearing it a lot.)

P_20231205_134103.jpg

The other thing that never fails to bring a smile to my face, is the Mexican practice to put up the tackiest X-mas decorations. Santas climbing down the balconies, or reindeer antlers and red noses decorating cars are quite typical. However, what always takes the cake for me are snowmen made of rubber or plastic, trying to bring festivity to a place otherwise devoid of snow.

P_20231205_133918.jpg

So for this week's POB Photo Contest I went out and took a pic of just that: a fake snowman and real winter coats, to illustrate how much (or how little) extreme this cold weather is perceived as. I didn't have to go very far, all of these photos I took right in my street, in the neighborhood of San Miguel Chapultepec. As always, I used the camera of my Asus Zenfone Max Plus for it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now