Willow blossoms - POBphotocontest Plants

img_3664_2_.jpg

Willow blossoms. My entry in #pobphotocontest hosted by @friendlymoose. You can join the contest too. Here's how it works - @friendlymoose/pobphotocontest-new-round-plants

I chose to post a photo of a willow because willows are a very common plant in the Northern hemisphere. According to wikipedia there are over 400 species. Almost every stream, river or wetland in North America will have some willows growing. They are under appreciated, often considered a nuisance, but I think they can be beautiful. They remind me of many fishing trips when I was young. Cold, wet, pre-dawn mornings, pushing through willows to get to a stream. Trying not to get too wet or too cold but not too worried about it because the excitement of the first cast overwhelmed those concerns.

Here is a willow growing along a creek by my house.
willow_portrait.jpg
Its fun to watch the blossoms wax and wane. These blossoms have lost most of their characteristic fluff.
willow_in_sky.jpg

willow_close.jpg
New leaves and blooms are welcome signs of spring.
willow_new_growth.jpg

willow_new_growth_2.jpg

Bonus pic:
img_4043.jpg
I know the ground is warming up because as I walked along the creek I heard the familar plop of frogs jumping into the water to hide. I caught this one failing to hide from me 😉

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency