Filling up the World Cup Sticker Album

PXL_20220826_141321517.jpg

All the pictures in this post were taken by me
Separador.png

Although I admit that I am not a fan of football, I have always had a collector's soul, there is an indescribable attraction in the activity of collecting different pieces to complete a whole: video games, movies, toys, and even shoes.

PXL_20220826_154510493.jpg

One of the most precious memories of my childhood was when my father arrived one afternoon after working with a copy of the Panini Album corresponding to the 2006 World Cup (which was played in Germany), I vaguely understood what its purpose was but I was immediately hooked the idea of ​​uncovering surprise envelopes that would include cards of greater or lesser value, I clearly remember that I didn't get very far but there was something all too fascinating about the tangible nature of these items, the materials with which each page of the album was made, the smell of the ink, the brightness of the envelopes and the action of removing the protector to stick them, were sensory elements that even after so many years have remained tattooed on my head.

In the midst of my apathy for sports and the always irregular economic situation in Venezuela, I never took it upon myself to collect the following sticker albums, in the case of Brazil 2014 and Russia 2018 I filled out the digital versions with my brother and my friends, but the level of sentimental involvement was never the same.

Screenshot_2022-08-27-15-43-34-992_com.fifa.stickeralbum.android.jpg

After a couple of days reading news that celebrated the imminent release of the 2022 version of the album, taking advantage of the fact that I finally have a job where I generate my own income, I thought: This is the best time to fill the Panini album.

For those who weren't aware of the news, Panini officially released the album in Venezuela on August 26 of this year, doing a pretty decent job of informing their customers which would be the authorized points of sale in each of the states and ensuring that everyone sold the envelope, the boxes and the albums at the same standardized price.

IMG20220826141316.jpg

In my case, for example, I took advantage of the fact that I would spend that day with my girlfriend who lives in the center of the city, to get one at one of the main authorized centers.

I understand that the prices have increased considerably in relation to the previous world cup, however, considering the amount of time that is still left before the soccer world cup starts, as well as the possibility of buying detailed envelopes, I decided to face this challenge without giving much thought to the logistical problems that would arise with the passing of the weeks.

PXL_20220826_165249275.jpg

PXL_20220826_162214953.jpg

PXL_20220826_170632436.jpg

The album cost me $4, and I bought 6 itemized envelopes at $1 each. Forming an initial investment of 10 dollars where I received pretty good stickers, for now, I plan to buy envelopes from time to time to fill as many spaces as possible and when the constant duplicates begin to appear, I will dedicate myself to exchanging.

Something I should mention is that although the quality of all the products is very good, I admit that I remember that 2006 version as a physically superior album/collection of stickers, although in this case the nostalgia could be blinding me.

PXL_20220826_172118160.jpg

Panini has done a great job with the distribution in Venezuela, state exchange groups have been formed on WhatsApp and it is evident that there is a very passionate community around, since the premiere I have seen dozens and dozens of people investing in the full boxes to fill the album as soon as possible, exchanging duplicate cards and discussing the value of certain special stickers.

It has been a very pleasant experience that I have lived with my brother and I hope to share my evolution throughout these days.

PS: At the moment, my favorite stickers that have come out have been the one corresponding to the FIFA museum for the 1970 cup (Won by Brazil against Italy), the Neymar sticker in the Brazilian team and the national team shield Korean that may not be very valuable but looks cool.

PXL_20220826_171703436.jpg

PXL_20220826_170632436.jpg

PXL_20220827_160642892.jpg

Separador.png

PXL_20220826_141321517.jpg

Todas las fotos en este post fueron capturadas por mi

Separador.png

Aunque admito que no soy fan del fútbol, siempre he tenido un alma de coleccionista, existe un atractivo indescriptible en la actividad de recolectar distintas piezas para completar un todo: Videojuegos, películas, juguetes, e incluso zapatos.

PXL_20220826_154510493.jpg

Uno de los recuerdos más preciados de mi niñez fue cuando mi padre llegó una tarde luego de trabajar con una copia del Álbum Panini correspondiente al Mundial de fútbol del 2006 (Que se jugaba en Alemania), vagamente entendía cuál era su propósito pero me atrapó inmediatamente la idea de destapar sobres sorpresa que incluirían cromos de mayor o menor valor, recuerdo claramente que no llegué muy lejos pero había algo demasiado fascinante en la naturaleza tangible de estos elementos, los materiales con los que cada página del álbum estaba construida, el olor de la tinta, el brillo de los sobres y la acción de retirarles el protector para pegarlos, fueron elementos sensoriales que aún luego de tantos años se han quedado tatuados en mi cabeza.

En medio de mi apatía por el deporte y la siempre irregular situación económica de Venezuela nunca me encargué de coleccionar los álbumes de stickers siguientes, en el caso de Brazil 2014 y Rusia 2018 rellenaba las versiones digitales con mi hermano y mis amigos, pero el nivel de implicación sentimental nunca fue lo mismo.

Screenshot_2022-08-27-15-43-34-992_com.fifa.stickeralbum.android.jpg

Luego de un par de días leyendo noticias que celebraron el inminente lanzamiento de la versión 2022 del álbum, aprovechando que finalmente cuento con un trabajo en dónde género ingresos propios pensé: Este es el mejor momento para volver a llenar el álbum Panini.

Para aquellos que no estuvieron al tanto de la noticia, Panini estrenó el álbum oficialmente en Venezuela el 26 de agosto de este año, haciendo un trabajo bastante decente por informar a sus clientes cuáles serían los puntos de venta autorizados en cada uno de los estados y procurando que todos vendieran el sobre, las cajas y los álbumes al mismo precio standarizado.

IMG20220826141316.jpg-

En mi caso, por ejemplo, aproveché que pasaría ese día junto a mi novia que vive en el centro de la ciudad, para conseguir uno en uno de los principales centros autorizados.

Entiendo que los precios han aumentado considerablemente en relación al mundial anterior, sin embargo, considerando la cantidad de tiempo que aún falta para que inicie el mundial de fútbol, así como la posibilidad de comprar sobres detallados, decidí enfrentar este reto sin darle muchas vueltas a los problemas logísticos que surgirian con el paso de las semanas.

PXL_20220826_165249275.jpg

PXL_20220826_162214953.jpg

PXL_20220826_170632436.jpg

El álbum me costó 4 dólares, y compré 6 sobres detallados en 1 dólar cada uno. Formando una inversión inicial de 10 dólares en dónde recibí stickers bastante buenos, de momento, planeo comprar sobres de vez en cuando para llenar la mayor cantidad de espacios y cuando empiecen a aparecer las duplicas constantes dedicarme a intercambiar.

Algo que debo mencionar es que a pesar de que la calidad de todos los productos es muy buena, admito que recuerdo aquella versión del 2006 como un álbum/colección de stickers superior físicamente, aunque en este caso la nostalgia podría estarme cegando.

PXL_20220826_172118160.jpg

Panini ha hecho un gran trabajo con la distribución en Venezuela, se han formado grupos estadales de intercambio en WhatsApp y es evidente que hay una comunidad muy apasionado al rededor, desde el estreno observo decenas y decenas de personas invirtiendo en las cajas completas para llenar el álbum lo antes posible, intercambiando los cromos repetidos y debatiendo sobre el valor de ciertos stickers especiales.

Ha sido una experiencia muy grata que he vivido junto a mi hermano y espero ir compartiendoles mi evolución a lo largo de estos días.

PD: De momento, mis stickers favoritos que han salido ha sido el correspondiente al museo de la FIFA por la copa de 1970 (Ganada por Brasil en contra de Italia), el sticker de Neymar en la selección de Brasil y el escudo de la selección Coreana que quizá no es muy valioso pero tiene un aspecto cool.

PXL_20220826_171703436.jpg

PXL_20220826_170632436.jpg

PXL_20220827_160642892.jpg

Separador.png

Twitter/Instagram/Letterbox: Alxxssss

AA4FE540-E68C-4DFF-90B3-32A2B0222C22.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center