Random Acts of Kindness Time: Snack Box Part 2

It was probably a year and a half ago that I first did this, but I've had a lot of freebies from my couponing lately that I couldn't eat myself due to my allergies. So when I accumulate a bunch of those, I either include them in lunches for homeless neighbors when I make up some of those, give them away in Buy Nothing groups if they're not exactly a lunch/on-the-go snack, or I make a snack box for delivery drivers to take from if they want. :)

So today I made the second box of snacks for delivery drivers! :) Since I live in a large apartment building, we have several deliveries every day: the mailman, UPS, FedEx, DHL, Amazon, food delivery, grocery delivery, etc. So things get taken in good time and aren't sitting out for too long (or at least, that's how it went the last time I did this).

20220411_195010.jpg
I write on the box that it's for them so they know and feel comfortable taking some

A lot of times they are running on a tight schedule, especially Amazon drivers, and maybe don't have time to take breaks or grab food. So it's just a little niceness in their day, I hope. :)

20220411_195255_HDR.jpg
Loaded up with snacks

The last time I did this, I put out my snacks but then neighbors also contributed; one neighbor I think worked for Einstein Bros Bagels, because they loaded the box up with a bunch of bagels and cream cheese, and another neighbor threw in some cookies. So we'll see if other neighbors contribute this time too!

20220412_170725.jpg

This was my sneaky photo because I went down and put it at the front door while the mailman was actively filling our mailboxes, lol. You can see the open door of some mailboxes in between the wall and the pillar, to the right of the soda machine. I didn't want to take a photo with him standing there, so I dropped it off, told him to have some snacks if he liked, and ran away. 😂

20220412_174108_HDR.jpg

I came back to take a photo after he left, and either he took the candy bar or another delivery came in right after him because it was maybe a half hour or less later when I took this photo. Hooray! :)

Those cans outside the box are because a different neighbor put some canned beans out originally in a box that said to take some, and these are what's left from a couple of days ago. The newspapers are piling up too ...I don't know if several neighbors get a paper delivered every day and don't pick it up for several days, or what, but there they are. Like if they don't want them, can I have the coupons? 😁

By the way, if you're wondering how I get freebies, it's a combination of sales and rebate apps. My main app is ibotta - if you use my referral code (ptonkkp), we'll both get a bonus, I think it's $10. Sometimes there will be a thing where it gives you a full rebate, generally because it's a new product and they are trying to get people to try it, and sometimes it's free because, say there's a rebate for $1 but it's on sale for $1 and so, free! Things like that. You can cash out once you reach $20 in rebates, and there are often small offers for "any brand of x" or "any receipt from x store" too, as well as bonus deals where like, I just did one where I got an extra $5 if I got 10 rebate deals over the weekend (which is how some of these items in the box were free, hee hee. It made two of them free + a moneymaker, which in couponing parlance means you not only got the thing for free but you got a little extra cash back beyond the purchase price). If you saw my post the other day where I saved $30 in groceries, half of that was from ibotta rebates! So I really recommend that app. I thiiiiink it's only available in the US, though it's possible they have expanded by now to other countries.

Anyway, so there's my RAOK that made me giggle today. Do something nice for others if you can, it makes you feel nice too. :) Have a great day!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments