Products I use to care for my hair and the relationship between hair and my confidence levels

I did a big chop about 6 years ago when I felt my hair weigh down on me and my emotions. At a point I felt my hair had taken over and was infiltrating my mind like tendrils but with the destructive behaviour of weeds. Hair is a type of weight you carry and how it sits on your head can have certain implications on how you feel.

Just like the power stance, your hair can contribute to your self esteem issues or confidence levels. For me, it felt like a dead weight. For a long time, I had dry hair and because I wasn't in Nigeria where I had the usual products I could use and my white side of the family did not know what to do coupled with the language barrier in Ukraine, I struggled to articulate what I needed to care for my hair. I didn't even know that products I needed could be found here. I know I said for the longest time, that I would never be able to find hair products for people of color. I was wrong but of course I did not know that and oh how I struggled with dry and brittle hair!

I only had one style where I would comb my hair and tie in an ugly bun. My baby hairs were uncared for and looked so messy. I even looked like I had a bald spot in front. I have deleted most pictures that remind me of this unfortunate time as I hate to remember it so much. These days, I don't comb my hair and if I need to give it a little volume, I use my fingers on a little plastic hair band I have with some spiky tooth just to gently lift up the hair at the back.

My curls are defined ever since I learnt to use products meant for it and I'm a lot happier.

Before I begin to share these products, I just want to share some photos of myself at different hair stages. My best hair stage is when I have the less amount of hair but not too low as I have a rather flat skull which no one sees because I have enough volume in my hair to trick the eye. It is why I would never do a slick hair lay down with gel but prefer a bouncy type of afro.

Anyway, here is the most I've allowed my hair to grow after the big chop. It was my longest hair growth and even though I think it looks visually appealing, I felt it did not represent the way I felt or wanted to be seen as.

IMG_20200907_143851-1.jpg
This photo was taken sometime in 2019 I believe.

The next one has me with hair of shorter length and feels within the limit of my comfort zone

IMG_20200909_141946 (1).jpg

The last is my ideal hair length and where I'm the happiest :)

IMG_20211115_105234.jpg

The products I use to wash my hair must contain some kind of oils and I like to try out different types of shampoos and hair masks because I get tired of the same smells but they always have to have nourishing properties. At the moment, this is the shampoo and hair mask as photographed in my bathroom with my door as a background:)

IMG_20211219_195134.jpg

IMG_20211219_195145.jpg

I use a lot of styling gels and I try out new ones all the time and below are just a few of what I have with me currently. As you can tell, I need to go shopping for new ones as I've squeezed the life out of them :)

IMG_20211219_195158.jpg

IMG_20211219_195213.jpg

IMG_20211219_195237.jpg

IMG_20211219_194917.jpg

I generally like to stick with things specifically made for curly hair and I wash and apply my hair mask at least every two days.

I'll like to know what products you use to care for your hair so feel free to drop a comment below!

Cheers!

IMG_20211219_195117.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now