A few things I'd wished I'd known about hive

I've had this account on hive for a while now and have underutilized it due to some misconceptions I had. I can't blame anyone but laziness to do basic research. So what did I discover?

img_0.7708031392177905.jpg

--Art by me

Yes, it's taken me a while but better late than never. I mention a lot that I've become a visual person in the past year, and this means that if I need an instruction on how to do anything online, I prefer to watch a video of someone explaining this to me, step by step. Also, as a user who wants functionality as well as a great user experience, I'm more likely to use a product if it provides enough motivation for use.

Not to tear down anything on the blockchain since it needs all the support it can get, but I initially started my hive journey by using the dapplr app. The next few sentences are a personal review and should not be viewed harshly. The thing is I made a mistake, as ever since I started doing arts on @lizzyblueart and using ecency, I've become a regular content creator on the platform.

The benefits of ecency which everyone who uses it already knows include the points system. You get points for doing most things and that's why I'm still here. This was the original idea that was sold to me when I joined hive but I did not experience it for close to a year if I'm not mistaken, simply because I was on the wrong frontend interface.

Another thing I wish I'd taken the time to learn was what it meant to delegate. I learnt about this only today and I'm yet to see the full benefit. But the concept behind delegation is what makes it interesting as a stand alone thing. I wish I'd actually taken the time to read a couple of paragraphs which explained this instead of deciding for myself that I'd figure this 'vague' thing somehow with time. It's. Not. Vague. At. All.

Finally, I wish I'd interacted more with people. I don't know if it was an attention span problem. Even though my post is filled with praise for ecency, I still think that the frontend needs a lot of work with the UI and UX. It's not 100 percent there yet and this might have been why I found it difficult to concentrate on people's posts. It's taken some amount of focus and self will to actively look through something from beginning to end. One of the reasons has to be the use of markdown which I'm not a fan of, the lack of options to add videos directly into the app. Understandably since we have blockchain technologies solely created for vloggers. Still, These things are a sore spot for me and kept me away from building a network.

I'm hoping someone who's just started learns from my mistakes and starts early as I think being here is useful. There's so much to learn and so much value to give.

Thanks for stopping by :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center