Happy Caturday: I found out why my cats got fat quickly.

This past week the weather has been very moody and rainy with a few hours of sunshine every day. Although the temperature has dropped, the high humidity made working in the garden very arduous. But my energy level has revived simply by being surrounded by green trees and my two orange cats. I always missed them a lot whenever I had to return to city life.

As soon as I arrived at the farmhouse in the countryside, I would be looking for my cats. They were very timid and afraid of strangers. So, they would be hiding in the garden until the driver and his vehicle disappeared from the front yard. Orange cats would take their time to make sure that the stranger has really gone. They would quietly came to greet me.

This weekend I did notice that both cats have become much fatter than before. I had to complain to my gardener for giving them too much cat food. But she insisted that she fed them only once a day. That gave me a puzzle. So, I tried to reduce the amount of cat food in the mornings and evenings. I had to give them some light snacks during the day. These cats were very punctual at feeding time as if they had some invisible digital alarm clocks!

Then I started to notice that these cats didn’t lose any weights. In fact, they became much heavier after a few days. So, I pretended to forget about their dinner time in order to give them a chance to burn more calories before the next meal. I hoped that would help in reducing their accumulated fat in their bodies. But this tactic didn’t seem to work as they just refused to go running in the garden with me. After their meal, they just went back to the old spots for longer naps.

However, I was happy to see the two cats still being close and loving towards each other. Sometimes they slept separately in the afternoon but they would cuddle together during the cool nights. Once i saw how Joan tried to tell Kwan to get up from her usual spot. Kwan hissed back at Joan but refused to have a fight, she just left her old napping spot and went inder the table. I often took photos of them while sleeping. It has become more difficult to take photos of them sleeping together. So, I had to record these whenever I could for my memory.

As I was wondering how to improve the health and fitness of my orange cat, something dawned upon me. I realised that it took more time for me to burn up my fat after eating heavy meals for three days. No matter how much I worked in the garden, the fat refused to melt as easily as before. So, this ought to be because my metabolism has become less efficient as I got older! This could happen to my orange cats too. Alas the three of us are getting older everyday and the metabolism rate reflects that reality!

There, I discovered the reason why orange cats and I couldn’t look as slender as we would like as we get older. For me, I should be cutting down on bread, ice cream, pasta, cookies and snacks. I knew my cats are used to being fed twice a day with two teabreak of snacks. It would be very difficult to change this habit, so I shouldn’t upset their routine. However, I would gradually reduce their amount of cat food. I do hope that this realisation would help to keep us more slender and fittter in a few weeks.

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Stay strong and cheerful.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center