My experience as a short black child

img_0.3687819831269203.jpg

As I go through this experience over and over again. In my head, I realized how it has taught me. Everything that happened in my life has made me stronger and courageous and has made me better version of myself.

Feeling good about your body isn't always an easy when you are short, Slim and black skinned boy. I would describe myself as a little man. It won't be a surprise to know that am the shortest and dark person in my family, even my younger siblings are taller than me.

The society always has it on sort of perception about people like me; we are lazy, incompetent and a joke wherever we go too. I felt bullied, slighted and ridiculed. Claiming the word "Short" "small" "dark" "slim" isn't easy but I feel it's the only way I could describe what I am.

It all started at the early period of my life when I was seen as the shortest, smallest dark child. I was always referred to as underage among my peers, there was a point in my life when students, friends including teachers started man use of the name "smallie" or "dark fuku" to address me and that name followed me till I got into higher institution.

img_0.5815527658807462.jpg

There was a day a teacher made a joke that if I was to walk up a stair case I will need a ladder to climb each step.I felt bullied, embarrassed, humiliated and hurt. The way friends look down on me "literally", make me feel left out. I became shy, low self-esteem, lonely at a tender age. It made it difficult for me to interact with people. Why don't you grow taller? just grow taller, I heard that all the time from friends and family.

Reminiscing all this memories made me found out that my skinny body can also be my strength, my black skin can also be my beauty, my shortness can also be my pride.

I am not looking for sympathy, just being able to tell people how skinny, dark, and short honestly feels challenging. Honestly talking about this experience made me believe I have overcome it. "I don't to be normal any longer because normal is boring, I just want to be the best version of myself.
img_0.2224261113347622.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now