3 Things to Know About Me This Week (And 1 Bonus)

Once in a while, I want to do something different. That's why I reserve time for experiments. I've been doing it since 2006 when I launched my freelance writing business.

Last week, I decided to focus more on writing Medium articles for pay. That doesn't mean I'm giving up on promoting my books. It does mean that, going forward, I'll write more on Medium and use their Partnership program to monetize the content. If it fails, at least I've given it an honest try. If it succeeds, I'll increase my income (even if just a little).

I've learned that writers who submit their articles to publications on Medium do much better than writers who don't. Today, my first article was published in the Medium publication EmergeTech. Click here to read the article.

Bottom line, I'm getting more active on Medium. You can follow me there by clicking here.

Now, without further ado, let's talk about the three things I want you to know this week.

No. 1: I'm Reading the Apocrypha

I've begun reading the Apocrypha, which is nothing new. A lot of people read those old, stale manuscripts. But I'm doing it for a different reason than most.

The novel I'm writing, the first in a series titled "The Merkabah Chronicles", follows an angel who is given a special assignment by Word to take on human flesh and investigate the murder of Abel. Titled 100 Days for Abel, the story showcases Merkabah's encounters with the strange and wonderful in the Land of Nod.

I'm reading several Apocryphal books to help me better understand how the ancient Jews saw the Antediluvian world (the world before the Great Flood). This background information should help me craft a more believable and authentic world for readers. So far, I've uncovered some interesting tidbits I can use.

At any rate, I hope to have 100 Days for Abel ready for consumption by the end of the year.

No. 2: 3 Medium Articles To Read This Week

Not only am I writing on Medium more, I'm also reading on Medium more. But I want to share with you some of the articles I've been reading. Here are three articles I read recently on Medium and which I also recommend for you.

  1. This article is important in our post-Pandemic cancel-culture world. I can honestly say I've never boycotted a business for political reasons. I just don't believe in it. The article presents a good reason why it's ineffective and bad form to do so.
  2. When Gmail launched, it was the next best thing in email. Since then, several Gmail alternatives have emerged and Proton is one of them. It's a Godsend for privacy advocates.
  3. Alexander Nguyen tells a great story about what happened when he wrote to LinkedIn for 100 days.

No. 3: Where I'll Be Signing Books This Week

This week, I'll set up my book table at Kroger on Galloway in Mesquite, Texas. These are the times and dates you'll find me at 525 N Galloway Avenue in Mesquite.

  • 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Wednesday, October 2, 2024
  • 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Thursday, October 2, 2024
  • 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Friday, October 2, 2024
  • 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturday, October 2, 2024

If you're in the neighborhood, stop by and see me.

ā€‹

This article was first published at Paragraph. Image from Unsplash.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now