My family in the garden

It was a holiday, a gloomy day. The clouds are dark that covers almost all of the sky. My son is so happy to have his father at home because it is a holiday and it means no work and we have some moments together.

Staying at home for the whole day is not ideal for us during holidays. We usually go out, be productive, have some fun and have some quality time.

This time, we decided to visit our garden despite a gloomy day.

The preparation

We take a bath early and eat our breakfast early. We wear our jacket, pajamas and hat to protect ourselves from cold weather and above all from mosquitoes.

We prepared sacks, gardening tools and water.

Take a look at some of our plants in the garden

Our garden welcome us with these two bananas ready for harvest. We are so grateful seeing both of them because for sure we will not go home empty handed.

Without any delay, my husband harvested them. He first get the first one.

He then proceed to the second one. The bananas have almost the same size.

We are so blessed having bananas in our garden because they never failed to give us fruit almost every month. We are always excited to visit them knowing they bear healthy and delicious fruits.

Here are the two harvested bananas. Who wouldn't like to have harvest like this?

We noticed that bananas grows well in that garden, so, we decided to plant more with different varieties.

We also have this kind of banana that looks like ripe because of its color but look, it is still so young and it is not ripe yet. When it will become mature and ripe, it's color will turn into more yellow and will looks like a little yellow orange.

We also planted additional bananas and they are growing well. Go bananas! Keep on growing so well.

As part of caring our bananas, my husband cut the weeds around the banana trees.

He also removed the dried leaves so the bananas is free from dried leaves hanging on themselves. They can breath well and looks clean this time.

While he is cleaning the group of banana trees, he saw this mushroom on the ground. I remember my parents who used to find mushrooms too in my father's garden that has a lot of bananas. Do mushroom really loves to grow in the banana field?

While my husband is busy with his task, me too spent my time removing the weeds from our previously planted cassava.

I love doing it that time because the weather is good for gardening. It wasn't hot that time because the weather is cloudy and gloomy. I am more than half way finished when the rain drops and we need to rest for a while inside our tricycle.

When the rain stop, I then continued my work. I am almost finished when my husband helped me because he is already done with his task.

It makes us happy and it is so satisfying seeing our plants free from weeds. It made our garden good to see too.

Our son looks for the ripe bush passion fruit that we have in the garden. He enjoys doing it and felt so happy when he found some. He then eat it with gladness.

While weeding, I also found two ripe bush passion fruit. This fruit seems wild but became a part of our garden. We didn't remove them and just allow them to grow and give us some fruits.

Before we leave, we decided to harvest the last four cassava plants that if I'm not mistaken more than a year old.

We planned to cook budbod out of it so my husband get some banana leaves.

I am the one arranging them and while doing it I remember how I used to practice writing in the banana leaves before.

So I tried to write again remembering my childhood memories. I wrote I LOVE HIVE.

Have you tried writing in a banana leaves too? If you haven't tried yet, try it and enjoy.

We are about to leave when we remember that we have some squash seeds. My husband planted it by twos and put some cassava stem to protect them from chickens. Hopefully they will grow well.


Holiday is a time to do what we want. It is also a time for family to bond. Since we don't have budget to travel or go somewhere, we decided to visit our garden and it was a great time for the family.

Gardening is one of the best way to bond as a family.


All photos are mine.

Do you have a garden? Do you visit there and do a gardening with your family? What do you feel having all the family hands on in the garden? Share your experiences I would love to read them too.

Thank you so much for reading. I hope you enjoy being with us in our garden. Feel free to comment, upvote and reblog if you like this article. Keep safe everyone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center