Update on Raised Beds. Lettuce up! Horseradish! Set back on peppers/tomatoes.

I am on a journey to grow more of my own food.
I have a few raised beds and each year, I add a few more. This is an update. Lettuce is doing well. The lettuce are smaller green-yellow plants in the photo below. The dark green plant is horseradish. The horseradish is a perennial so it returns each year. I planted it two years ago as a very small root. This will be the first year that I harvest some of the roots. Eventually, this raised bed will be horseradish only.
img_20220401_154034_hdr.jpg
I also planted another bed of lettuce and some collards. Those beds have poor germination. We had a late freeze that damaged most of those plants. Here's a link to post from late winter on planting those seeds.
Also, I tried a new experiment this year. The experiment is using dried garden peas meant for consumption as seeds. @growingmyownfood/from-the-grocery-store-into
I am happy to report those seeds are doing very well! I have two beds of garden peas, and the first bed is about ready to start climbing on my wire cover.img_20220401_154820_hdr.jpg

img_20220401_154815_hdr.jpg
On a disappointing note, the early peppers, tomatoes and cucumbers that I started in egg cartons were damaged by the cold late one night. I am germinating some new seeds. But here's a bright note to end with STRAWBERRIES!🍓
Each year, I have a raised bed of strawberries. They are perennials and do well in mild sun and moderate shade. The first blooms are here!
img_20220401_154901_hdr.jpg

In other
notes, the asparagus bed is doing well. So far, I have gathered around two pounds of asparagus.
I hope everyone has a great weekend of gardening! That's my plans.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency