More Harvest in My Plantain Farm

Hello everyone,
Welcome to my blog once again and do excited to be here to share my farming experience with you guys.

Originally, I came from a farming background, and for the recent years my farming interest has been on plantain farming. As I looked at it and analysed the result of it all, then I realised that it’s very pleasing to witness your hard work sprouting up and bearing fruits, this season, by the grace of God, i have harvested my plantain farm.

This year, I thought it appropriate to effect some changes in the way I have been managing the farm. I concentrated more on space management so that no two plantain could be sited close to one another because of the need to access light. Third, I focused more on the soil health and used organic manure to enhance fertility of the soil, which, from my perception played a crucial role in boosting up the production.

IMG_20240819_103406_426.jpg

Water management was the another one of the key factors. I ensured that my plantains were well watered, especially during the dry season ensuring that they received the right quantity of water. Water is also detrimental to the plants if given in the wrong measure, either too much or too little so getting that right was important. By using a small irrigation system which I created, I was able to control the water supply in order to keep the plants healthy and vigorous.

The other important component was pest control. Pests and diseases also affected the pertain plants during the growth processes since these plants were also susceptible to pests, I ensured I visited the farm often and used organic ways to control pests. This not only shield the plants but also made sure that the produce does not get contaminated hence maintains it organic nature.

IMG_20240819_103405_614.jpg

Indeed, the outcome of these efforts has been fruitful. This season I have had bigger and healthier plantain fruits in terms of the size of the bunch and the number of fruits the bunch has yielded. The plants are well greener and the leaves are so abundant showing that they are healthy and growing tall and strong.

The sight of so many plantains out there in my farm, and realizing that they are all mine pleases me a lot. This clearly shows how farming is not a joke that requires a mere decision to start but requires preaching and work. It takes twice the amount of effort and hard work in soil preparation, pest control, and many other aspects that have gone a long way toward helping me get the results that I deserve.

That is why as I prepare to harvest and sale the plantains I am already planning on how to make it better for the next season. Perhaps, the most important aspect about farming is that one is always learning, and with each harvest, comes a number of things that one gets to learn. I have found that this season, that I need to allow time for listening to what my crops require and how I need to answer to them.

Therefore, am carrying forward a bountiful harvest from my plantain farm as a testimony that farming, if well managed and catered for, can be very profitable and fulfilling. Thank you for this year’s’ fruitful harvest and many more in future to come.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now