Prioritizing Profits over Customer Satisfaction, is it right?

Orange Yellow Minimalist Aesthetic A Day in My Life Travel Vlog Youtube Thu_20240916_224148_0000.jpg

I stopped buying stuff online last year. That was after I bought a D&G bag that turned out to be fake, a correct Okrika.

I had checked around before paying to make sure the bag's price falls within the same range as what others are charging for theirs. So I was surprised when she sent me a bag very different and inferior from the one I ordered, but at the same price.

I don't know how she did it, but the design was placed on the wrong bag. That experience left me with no trust for online vendors, unless the one that has been tested and trusted or someone I know. Anything outside this will require that the product be delivered before I make payment.

I've also had bad experiences with small entrepreneurs, like the hairdressers and tailors.

IMG_20240916_222944.jpg

I made this dress for a relative's burial, and I remember how frustrated I felt that day. The people there weren't nice at all; they acted like it was my fault the dress turned out like that. The woman said there's nothing else she could do. I didn't take the dress home but took a picture to show my sister. After telling her how much I paid the tailor, she came with me to see the lady. We were shocked when she said I didn't ask her to stay the clothes. Was I supposed to tell her what to do after giving her a picture of what I want? I didn't even know anything about gum staying back then. Anyway, we asked her to make the dress better or return my material and money.
That's when she did this👇.

IMG_20240916_195212.jpg

IMG-20240916-WA0018.jpg

To thrive as entrepreneurs, we must be honest with our customers about what we can and cannot do. I've also noticed that some entrepreneurs prioritise profits over customer satisfaction, which can lead to losing potential customers. After my bad experience, none of my family members or friends went back to that shop for sewing. They all agreed that the lady couldn't sew.

On the other hand, Benedicta, who has been sewing my clothes for years, always impresses people with her work. Whenever I wear clothes she makes, people ask me for her contact information. Even though she charges a bit more than other seamstresses, I know she can sew better than all of them. It's worth paying more for quality work than getting a poor imitation of what you wanted.

I can say the same thing about the guy I've been ordering gadgets from. He's very honest to the extent that I don't even haggle over prices anymore. He offers quality and he's gotten a lot of referral from my end.

It's important not to overcharge potential customers; honesty is key. When you deliver what the customer wants and they are satisfied, they will likely return and be willing to pay your price. There might be some negotiation, but in the end, they will appreciate your commitment to their satisfaction.


This post is in response to #Septemberinleo prompt, day 16, in collaboration with the Clean Planet community initiative by @nwothini335 .
What I ordered Vs what I got.
A popular phrase that indicates a customer's dissatisfaction with a product or service.
Had any similar experience? Feel free to share it by commenting or creating your own post about it.

Thank you for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now