Participating in Community Services

One of the things I derive joy most from is united group work. I love being among people who have the same motive and work collectively toward achieving their set goals.
One of the things I can't miss is participating in community services. It's always fun working together as one to make the community a better place. Most times after every community service, we often have a little refreshment. These refreshments are voluntarily provided by members of the community, sometimes the leaders and chiefs.

The first community service I've ever participated in was the Road Clearing/Cleaning Activity which later ended with a waste cleanup. On D-day, everyone came out with their different weeding and grass-cutting apparatus and equipment. Some came out to the streets with their Brush cutters, some with shovels and machetes. I was among the machete group, hehe.

It was indeed an amazing community service as we did the whole work that day with joy. What made my joy complete was the after-party refreshments, lol. It was a day to burn calories and gain biceps and triceps as that of Arnold Schwarzenegger, the bodybuilder.

That same day we also engaged in cleaning up one of the illegal refuse dump sites where a lot of people secretly dump their household wastes. I didn't even know that the community leaders have invested their funds in this community service by hiring a Benz tipper to help us move the waste to the proper disposal sites.

It was a great cleaning activity that day. I didn't plan for waste cleanup, so I left the house with my machete alone. But as I discovered we had to do some little cleaning of waste, I went home and got my gloves; personal hygiene first.

Those who came out with shovels and spades were doing the packing job(packing the wastes into baskets) while the rest( including myself) were loading the tipper with the baskets of waste. I couldn't get many photos at this point as my hands were soiled and I was afraid of contaminating my phone as well.

After we cleaned up the whole waste, we went around the area mounting warning posts against illegal dumping of refuse in that area and stating the fine for offenders.

The placing of these posts was done by the adults while younger guys like me went to get some water at the public kiosk for self-cleaning up before the after-party.

When we got back, everyone got themselves washed up and we began the “feast”, lol. What I have waited for a long time.

It was a day to remember and a sign of cooperation and unity among everyone in our community. It was also a sign of hard work as every young man turned up, that is to say, even the older men marched to the streets and made the day worth it.
What saddens my heart is that this general community sanitation doesn't hold often as I wish, maybe twice or once a month.

But it was indeed a community service to remember.
This is my entry for the #augustinleo prompt for today, day #16.
This is also my response to the #cleanplanet biweekly prompt. @nwothini335 made a detailed description of the prompt in the community.
To know more about the #augustinleo prompts, check it out HERE

To know more about the #cleanplanet biweekly prompt, check it out HERE

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now