Color vs Monochrome: 17 photos from Fencing Day festival at St.Petersburg .:. EN/RU

2024-may-6375crop2.jpg


In my recent post accounting photo-activities back in May, I mentioned that I visited the annual Fencing Festival, which took place near Palace Square in St. Petersburg; and finally today I devoted half a day to sorting the files in this directory, removed the unnecessary ones, renamed the necessary ones, and looked in person at how much post-processing I have to do... (a little less than 600 files). Horror! But nevertheless, I was left with a lot of beautiful photos and will slowly dig through them from time to time.

I met this girl at the festival, I was impressed by how dashingly she acted in a Jedi lightsaber duel, and later, noticing her at a tray with samples of interesting medieval edged weapons, I showed my large camera and inquired if the lady would like to receive a few photos of yourself with a wonderful blade in your hand? and accordingly, would she spare ten minutes to pose for me? It turned out to be very simple, a camera in your hands can be a very eloquent argument, lol. The girl was happy and said that she didn’t mind posing for 30 minutes... until she got tired.

I should note that I also photographed several other people, so I don’t have a reason to think for a long time about which photos to start processing: I started with her photographs. They turned out very expressive!

But there is one small... no, actually a big problem (as always): I can’t decide which color solution is preferable and better reflects the essence of what is happening in the frame: color or monochrome. I would be sincerely glad to hear your thoughts!

В моем недавнем посте про интересные события мая я упомянул, что посетил фестиваль "День фехтовальщика" проходивший во время Дня Города возле Дворцовой площади. было много всего интересного, и файлы в каталоге "Недавнее" росли кака снежный ком. Сегодня наконец у меня дошли руки до снятого, я удалил лишнее, переименовал нужное, и ужаснулся тому, сколько обработки мне предстоит (чуть меньше 600 файлов). Но тем не менее, я получил массу красивых карточек, которые буду рад вам показать - со временем.

С этой девушкой я познакомился на фестивале - меня впечатлило, как лихо она махала джедайским световым мечом. Позже, заметив ее у лотка с образцами интересного средневекового холодного оружия, я высунул вперед себя большую зеркалку и осведомился: не желает ли леди получить забесплатно несколько фотографий с клинком в руке... и не уделит ли она десять минут мне попозировать. Оказалось, это супер просто! камера в руках может быть очень красноречивым аргументом, лол. Незнакомка оживилась и ответила, что и 30 минут не вопрос. (clickable... )

Должен заметить, что я фоткал еще нескольких человек, поэтому проблемы выбора с чего начинать обработку у меня нет. Карточки супер выразительны!

Но одна проблема таки есть: не могу выбрать, какое цветовое решение предпочтительнее: цветное или монохромное. Буду искренне рад услышать ваши соображения!


2024-may-6375w-h1.jpg

Color...

2024-may-6375w-h2.jpg

Or monochrome?..


2024-may-6382w-h1.jpg

Color...

2024-may-6382w-h2.jpg

Or monochrome?..


2024-may-6383w-h1.jpg

Color...

2024-may-6383w-mono-.jpg

Or monochrome?..


2024-may-6384w-1.jpg

This time I have no doubts: surely, it is mono! Look at her face, it is much more expressive in this variant. The rest of the background also loses its distracting accents and merges into just ... a crowdy background.

2024-may-6384w-h2.jpg


2024-may-6394w-h1.jpg

This? or that?..

2024-may-6394mono.jpg


2024-may-6413w-h1.jpg

Here I would rather go for the color (I dont like too much foliage shade in b-w that I get in the end).

2024-may-6413w-h2.jpg


2024-may-6357w-h1.jpg

Definitely I prefer B-W for this one.

2024-may-6357w-h2.jpg


Now the last but not the least! 😎 I visited the festival not alone, but with a friend-photographer @tatdt. Of course, she is also waiting for my photos - I couldn’t but add to my post one frame especially for her!

И последнее. На фестиваль я пришел не один, а с другом-фотографом @tatdt. И конечно же она тоже ждет моих фотографий - я не мог не добавить в мой пост одну карточку специально для нее!


2024-may-6033w-h.jpg

Color? Or Mono? Very hard question. What will you say, my friends?

2024-may-6033w-h2.jpg

Thanks for walking with me -and see you next time.


location: St.Petersburg, Russia May 2024 natural light
camera/lens: Canon 5D 16-35mm raw-conv
f/4.5 t 1/250 ISO 320 --

sep1201.png

All images taken by me, copyright (c) @qwerrie
My posts at pinmapple.com
Thanks for visiting my blog!
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center