Cool Cars and Trucks

A few days ago, I briefly wrote about a trip to Silverwood Theme Park to see their car show on Labor Day weekend. I have a lot more snapshots from that occasion, though, and decided to practice my editing in GIMP to share a few more of them here.

Can anyone honestly say anything bad about the early Mustangs? The design just looks good. But does this look better against a color backdrop, or with everything else in grayscale, too? I played a bit with the curves, and of course I zeroed out the color saturation.

mustang.jpg

mustangbw.jpg

I also snapped a photo of this gray Chevrolet pickup, so let's give it the same treatment. Does it look better in contrast to its surroundings, or when monochrome is all there is? This has more of a flat primer gray, so the shape doesn't really pop as much. Even on a cloudy day, most cars had reflections on their glossy coats. Not this truck.

chevy.jpg

chevybw.jpg

Let's try something with more character. Not everything was beautifully polished, or even primed for future paint. Some had patina, like this International pickup.

international.jpg

internationalbw.jpg

Lastly, on the most extreme end of elegance, let's take a look at this rat rod. I don't know what it started out as, or what has happened to it since, but there's a certain cool factor to these one-of-a-kind outlandish custom jobs. It's long and low, so I changed the aspect ratio of my images to match.

ratrod.jpg

ratrodbw.jpg

And there you have it, four different automobiles in colo[u]r and black-and-white. What do you like? What would you compose or edit differently? Did you know the Checker Cab Company made their own cars and sold them to the public? Please feel free to join the conversation!

dizzy d20 128.png

HIVE | PeakD | Ecency

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center