My Day in Detail: Working Under the New Normal Environment

Hello Hiveians!

I'm on my 3rd day of my 30-Day Blogging Challenge by @tegoshei and I didn't realize I'm actually enjoying this. To be honest, I got tired already after I uploaded my second post last night, but I'm enjoying the pressure I subjected myself into. I don't know what will happen in the coming days though. Let's see if I can do this.

I'm so happy that people are now taking up the challenge. Kudos to you Shei for coming up with this!

For this day, it will be about my typical day in detail. Let's start! I have two versions for this one.

Short Version: Uneventful

Long Version:

My Day in Detail
Working in a New Normal Environment


Morning

I usually wake up at 5:30 AM, 15 minutes before my alarm clock. I don't know, but I will always wake up before the alarm. I won't get up from bed until 5:50 AM. I'll spend 20 minutes checking Hive, Discord, Twitter, Splinterlands. If there's a big news, I want to know immediately. I'll reply comments, read new posts, and backread chats in Discord. I'll get up and spend the last 10 minutes before 6:00 AM playing with my dog. He's an attention seeker so, I felt obliged to rub his belly.

Cookie! He wants some attention.

I take a bath and prepare everything for work in under 30 minutes. I need to walk for a few meters to the main road. A van or bus that was hired by our company is waiting at the main road. I usually write my blogs when I'm on the way to work. It's either I'll start the topic that I want to write or I'll play Splinterlands until my mana capture rate's at 70%.

The new normal. We are not allowed to go to work if our body temperature exceeds 37.2°C.

We usually arrive at the plant at 6:45 ~ 7:00 AM. I'll have breakfast at the canteen and after eating, I'll head directly to the office. Start of work is still at 8:00 AM so, I'll spend the next 45 minutes reading emails, checking the yield of my process, or continue writing the topic that I started. Sometimes I'll edit the photos for my next travel post. Everything's done on my old and laggy phone.

I'll officially start working at 8:00 AM, finalizing my report if I have one or preparing my defense for the morning meeting at 8:15 AM. The meeting usually takes up 1 hour and it's mainly about activity updates and process monitoring.

Typical morning scene at the office.

I'll spend the rest of the morning sulking... I mean working on the reports I haven't finished the day before. If I feel like it, I'll visit the process and check the current concerns of the operators. Nothing special.

Reminders at the canteen.

We take our lunch break at 12:00 PM and I usually take a nap after. If I don't feel like sleeping, I'll play Splinterlands or shill Hive on Twitter or criticize the incompetence of the government in handling this pandemic. 😂

Afternoon

Does this date make sense to you? Don't worry, it doesn't make sense to me either.

I spend the remaining four hours in the afternoon making reports, staring at numbers that don't make sense, conducting evaluations I already know the result but the data is needed by the boss, and dealing with incompetent people from other departments. If they will just do their job, everything will be smooth sailing. Wait. Am I too full of myself? I don't care. 😂

How about these numbers? It should somehow show some trends, but I got nothing so far. 😂

I'll officially stop working at 4:30 PM. The remaining 30 minutes is spent on useless things. You know, just waiting for the chime. The sound of 5:00 PM is music to my ears.

New normal scene at the bus. Social distancing, mask and face shield on. Okay. We're not yet required to have a face shield, but I'm paranoid so...

I'll immediately punch out because the company bus is waiting outside. The most senti moment of the day is when I'm on a bus on my way home and we are on the new bridge. The afternoon scene of metropolitan Cebu is just so dramatic for me. But I can't afford to be dramatic. I need to at least make the skeleton of the blog. I need to continue writing just like how I wrote the first part of this blog earlier.

I usually arrive home at around 6:00 PM and I always have an early dinner.

Evening

I spend most of my evening on my phone. I'm on Discord, checking my Twitter, finalizing my blog if I need to post something before I sleep, or simply chilling and phasing out.

Since I'm a procrastinator, I usually watch a series first before I can realize I have a deadline just like this one. I'm currently watching Blacklist on Netflix. I'll watch 2 or 3 episodes before going to sleep at around 10:30 or 11:00 PM.

That's basically my uneventful day. How about you? I guess it's time to take up the challenge and talk about yourself more. Don't worry, it will be just this month.

I swear I'll skip tomorrow's topic!

Day 1: What's With the Username?
Day 2: Ten Interesting Facts About Me


Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines) and the rest of the world even if he's still a poor corporate slave with tons of bills to pay and two siblings to support in college.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency