YOUR DREAMS/AMBITIONS TIMELINE AS YOU REMEMBER IT

• I don't clearly remember my earliest childhood days, but from 6/7 to 14 years, I wanted to be a medical doctor for the same reason almost every other kid wanted to; because their parents wanted them to.

118122337_4209627245779223_1645595594060048916_n.jpg

And to be rich and build their own hospitals to help the poor.
I would pay the kids around me to catch me lizards and I would melt any tablet I find in water and inject into these lizards with used syringes.

• At 15, I realized I couldn't stand the sight of wounds and blood.
They terrified me.

I was already developing a passion for music and by 16, I was sure I would be a musician. A celebrity!
I sang people's songs at a few end of the year parties I was opportune to attend.

• At 17, I went back to wanting to be a medical doctor against my will.
A medical lab. scientist at 18 when medicine and surgery wouldn't work out.

• At 19, I gained admission into a polytechnic to study Dispensing Optician and I said it was my fate.
I was going to be dispensing medicated glasses to patients with eye defects and I tried so much to wear it as a badge of honor.

I found writing in between 19 and 20 and I said I would be one of the finest writers that there will ever be.

I was trying poetry too but my poems always read like prose, so I stopped.
And in the later years of 21, I began to develop a passion for history after my father told me a story of the Biafran war.

I had asked how the scar on his leg came about and he told me the story.
History started becoming a thing to me.

• At the same 21 too, I also wanted to be a fashion designer. So, I went to serve as an apprentice for one of the best fashion designers I knew in Aladinma but I stopped after two months.

• At 22, I attended The Imagery Program for screenwriters and filmmakers in Lagos. There I learnt about movie scripts and I said it was what I wanted to do - to be a screenwriter.
I found photography as this time too but I was confused about it.

• At 23, I didn't want to be anything. I was scared.
I didn't think there would be a need to be anything and I gradually did away with everything I had wanted to become.

I gained admission into the history and international studies department.
I still loved history and when I was alone, I thought about journalism. But I was scared of wanting to become anything anymore.

• At 24, I found myself again. I still had writing. The passion for photography too.
I began to take down what I really wanted to write;
Fiction. Nonfiction. And the genres I was going to focus on for screenwriting were drama, epic/history, and a bit of romance.

In the later days of 24, I decided to become a businesswoman too but it didn't go well.

• Now at 25, I still want to write - movie scripts.
I want to direct movies.

121542776_3366757010080017_4146648515904564765_n.jpg

I want to take creative photography seriously and I want to get into documentary too.
I want to enjoy life, go out, meet people, and live this youthful stage so well having in mind that I am never meeting it again.

This is my dream timeline as I remember it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center