The Ordeal Of The Young School Girl

We finished the exams and got home.
I told mummy everything that had happened, we prayed together and she was excited that I had made such tangible progress towards getting back to school like that.
I was confident I'd get the admission, mum and I said thank you prayers, we asked God for the blessings of admission..

130893564_1238969673144317_4156973300929948828_o.jpg

I continued working. Now, I was deliberate at saving for my schooling. I started conditioning my mind to work and school.
I was ready.

It didn't take long when the list of the successful candidates was pasted at the CBN hall.
I was not scared of the outcome, I felt it in my chore that this was mine.
I went in to check.
Hmmmmmmmm!
My name was not there!

I didn't make it...this reality dawned on me with such a surprise. My heart was on the speed lane... I maintained an outward calm but inside me, I promise I was yelling in my spirit.
What?
What could've been wrong?
I was overconfident. I probably made a mistake. I failed. I failed myself. I failed mummy. I failed to meet Usen's expectations.

I had not the one thing that I needed so badly.
This was it. Maybe I was not meant to go to school. Maybe I need to go get pregnant to some man and start a family. I failed. I failed.
I failed in English language...
There was no negative thing I didn't say to myself.
And then I turned to God. I asked Him about all the promises He made to me in the Bible.
I asked Him to tell me if I hadn't prayed enough, if I hadn't done Mathew 7:7 enough. I quarreled with him.

I vexed with Him. I couldn't thank Him for this particular situation.
I'd be in church and every song would hurt. Every sermon sent tears to my eyes.
I was down.
Mum cried with me... This hurt me so badly.
Usen said,
"well, examinations is not a true taste of knowledge". He was being careful not to rub it in... But that marked the beginning of the end of our relationship. He was gone. He just didn't say it. We barely talked. We didn't see anymore. I spent what I served on frivolous endeavors and I engaged in impulsive buying - anything to have a smile.
One day...
One beautiful morning.

It was about 05:00am,mum was in my house then, she'd come visiting. I had got up early and got her water made. I woke up this day with a determination to not be sad.
I decided that against all odds, I'd try again. I pulled off my sack clothe and made an update on my BBM status...it read...
"My day of unspeakable favors".

In the kitchen, while I was making breakfast, Cy called. He was one of the two I had extended help in the exams room. He called to ask if I could help him get a room around Ikpa road.
What?
Cy! You had admission?
"yes, I did"... Val, you didn't?
I didn't Cy, I replied...

"That is not true! Val no now, you that helped me write?"
At this point, I felt the warm tears building up and finding It's way back to my eyes and I was bent on leaving that burden so I told Cy I'd look around and get back to him once I could get a house.
I hung up.
About 20mins later.
Cy called back.

" Val, is your name not, NseAbasi Valentine Owoh?
I said, yes, it is!

Babe, come and pay your acceptance fee abeg. You are number two on this list."
I almost fainted.

I went to mum, I told her amidst tears ... I called NseAbasi, I asked him to confirm the news.
As though he was waiting, he moved straight to school, before 7.00am. I received a screenshot on my phone...
It was true.
I had made it.
I did not fail.
God did not fail me.

You needed to hear NseAbasi on the phone, he was screaming as though he was the one who just got the admission.

I jumped on mummy, she dropped her food and started dancing. She was thanking Jesus with tears of joy. I called Bro. Emmy to share the news, I was laughing so much he barely could hear me. He had to call mum to ask why I was so ecstatic, mum sef wasn't done with her version of excitement but somehow brother heard that I had gotten the admission!
I went to Bridge, told my Bobo, Danny who was super excited for me... He drove me to school and we saw it for ourselves.

I was number two on the darn list!
I had checked the wrong list earlier.
Misinformation is the worst thing to happen to a person.
I withdrew the 15k I made the previous day and went to the designated microfinance bank to pay the acceptance fee...

I was there when Usen called, his call hadn't come in like five days. He called to check up on me...
It was a regular, "how are you, where are you...call"
When I mentioned I was at the bank, he inquired...
"nso anam do"? (what are you doing there?)
Told him I was there to pay my acceptance fee...
I could feel the surprise in his voice, some sort of relief and joy...
".. Wait there", he said.

In minutes, Usen drove in, I was done so we drove out... I thought he wanted to buy me a nice meal or a fine wine...
Well, it was none of those. He drove us to his village and introduced me to his mother for the first time...

Biggest deal remained, I had gotten admitted into the university... One day... Within the next three years, I'd be a graduate...
One dream was coming true!
I made up with God.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now