I Found Some Shelving

I was walking to work today - running a bit late - and happened by a few shelves sitting on the path outside someone's house. There was a note attached saying "Free To Take, Everything Must Go."

Being in a rush, I had to ring around. I got through to my auntie when I got to work and told her where the stuff was, and as we talked I was told that I didn't have to be in until 12:30 (My supervisor never told me that, but we have tours in at that time and I'd be better off being there for the afternoon rather than the morning.)


I walked back up the hill, and luckily they were still there.

My auntie was having her breakfast, so I said not to worry about it and that I'd just walk them up if they were still there. She offered a lift if I needed it, but I said it was grand.


They all have their bars, so all I need to do is get a few screws for them.

It took me two trips. As I walked back up I grabbed 4 (2 under each arm) and brought them to the house and left them in the back garden, then went back for the other two.

They were two thick to carry all 6 in one trip. Luckily, when I got back down they were still there.

There were other things like paintings and lamps, but the shelving was all I needed.


I've measured them up (3.6 ft)

My intention was to put two rows of two above my PC, but there isn't enough wall space, so it'll be two rows of one.

Excuse the drawings, these are just quick examples I did after measuring.

I was going to buy some shelving soon, and then these fell into my lap. I'm delighted, and I'll now have so much storage space for the bits and pieces I'm selling.

Above my PC I can have some consoles, and some of my personal game collection, and maybe some other odds and ends.


I can have three on this wall.

On these shelves, I can have the games I'm selling, as well as some of the Halo sets. It'll be nice to have them all displayed while they're waiting to sell.

Currently, everything is sitting in stacks, in boxes, and in general, everything I have is taking up floor space. This find is going to seriously help with organising everything and it'll make my office way neater.


The final shelf can go above the helmets.

On that shelf, I could display some Star Wars stuff, an AT-AT, Scout Walker, and Jabba The Hutt are what I'm thinking of putting up there. But, there'll be plenty of space for other things. I'll see how it all goes, and figure it out as the shelves go up.


Kitting out my entire office space in shelving would have cost me a few quid, but I've essentially saved myself that money and now all I need to buy are some screws.

The funny thing is, I wasn't even going to walk that way to work as I thought I'd go to the shop first, but since I was running a bit late I went the quickest route.

Thinking about it, it didn't matter which way I walked, because, with everything that happened, I would have still found and got them.

If I had walked the other way, I still would have been told I wasn't supposed to be there until the afternoon, and then I would have walked back the other way and happened by the stuff.

Anyway, happy days! I'll be putting these bad boys up over the next week. I'm back at Aimee's today, but I will be back for work during the week so I will most likely do it on one of those evenings.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center