Intimate Waters

I hope you don't expect NSFW content in this post 😉

Intimate Landscape Photography - Slovenia - Johann Piber

Intimate Landscape Photography
Slovenia | Šunikov vodni gaj . Slap Boka

There are many different descriptions for the term "Intimate Landscape Photography", but all have in common that it's taking photos of a small scene within a larger scene that might or should make the viewer curious about the whole scene.

So, the viewer should not only look on what's in the image to see, but also imagine what might lie outside of the frame.
Just like it's big brother landscape photography, intimate landscape photography is a sub-genre of nature photography.

I love waterfalls and that's why my preferred objects for intimate landscapes are waterfalls and rivers, as you can see in this post.

I haven't taken many photos in the past weeks, somehow my Mojo is still on holidays and somehow I'm mostly just too tired after busy days and weeks.

Šunikov vodni gaj

Two weeks ago, I was once again in Slovenia at the Šunikov vodni gaj, the Šunik Water Grove. But let me begin with the last photo of that day which I took on my way home at the lake Lago del Predil in Italy.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

I have taken and posted tons of photos of the waterfalls in the Šunik Water Grove in the Lepena Valley, but not so many intimate photos showing more of the details and textures of the rocks the water is flowing by and over.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Intimate Landscape Photography - Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Intimate Landscape Photography - Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Intimate Landscape Photography - Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Intimate Landscape Photography - Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

The above photos are detail shots of the big waterfalls in the grove, and below is a shot of the Lepena river which I like a lot because a few rays of the morning sun were peeking just a little bit through the clouds and the trees, illuminating this rock in a warm golden tone.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Slap Boka

Last weekend I wanted to take photos of this waterfall: the Boka Waterfall / Slap Boka in Slovenia. And for the first time I have hiked towards the waterfall through the river itself and didn't use the path through the woods.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

But as you can see, there's not much water and the highest waterfall in Slovenia looks quite small. I was expecting a lot more water from the mountains where I thought the snow would already be melting, but maybe I've been too early there.

So I decided not to hike completely up to the waterfall, because the rocks were quite icy at places and I didn't want to risk hurting myself, but to take a few detail images on my way. Also, the weather wasn't the best and neither was my motivation, to be honest.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

On my way back down I have found one more heart for my little collection of "natural hearts" and I took a few intimate water photos, the best of which can be seen here above and below.

Mossy Heart
Intimate Landscape Photography - Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Intimate Landscape Photography - Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

As said above, the weather was not the best - it was cloudy but not very cold and it was slightly snowing in the mountains.

And so I end this post like I started it, with a non intimate landscape photo, showing cloudy skies over the mountains in Slovenia. There was a little gap in the clouds that let the sun illuminate a snow field on the peak.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

And now you have reached the end of my today's post and I hope you enjoyed my images.


Information

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 70-200mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM, Sigma 100-400mm f/5-6,3 DG OS HSM C.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog
Johann Piber @johannpiber

Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission
Please contact me if you would like to get one of my photos in full resolution or visit my NFT galeries ⬇️

My Photos are listed at the OpenSea NFT Marketplace and on the Foundation Plattform

>>> Twitter/JohannPiber <<<

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

>>> Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here! or here <<<


2022-03-13
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
124 Comments
Ecency