Fighting Gods

It's my kids 18th birthday today. Now you may ask "why are you posting on such a day?" and you might also ask "what has this to do with the title 'Fighting Gods'?"

When Gods fight in the sky

Fighting Gods - Sun Dog

Well, from the early morning on they have had Well-wishers visiting us, mostly family. The answer to your first question would be "I take advantage of a little break while we wait for my niece who comes from Lower Austria to make some replies and a post".

She had to wait for the result of a Corona test she had to make because one of her colleagues was tested positive. Her test was negative, so she could head towards Carinthia. Today is her birthday too, so we will have 3 birthday kids at home today. Well, when you see this post it will be evening here and she will already be gone to her own family here in Carinthia.

On the right side you can see what I didn't see ;)
Fighting Gods - Sun Dog
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM
ISO 100 . f/10 . 2 sec . @70 mm

The answer to the second question is a little different.
Yesterday evening I was on the mountain where I photographed the Golden Hour in the Mountains photos of my contribution to the @Qurator's Photo Quest "Golden Hour". I wished I had not been so much fixated on the setting sun, because the phenomenon to the right of the sun has certainly been much more intense a while before I took notice of it.

So, long story short, to me it looked like a brightly shining boomerang which was thrown on something that glowed like a rainbow when hit. "Fighting Gods" I thought, and since I love my kids like little gods and they have always been fighting, this is the answer to the second question.

When then I saw the Halo it was almost gone
Fighting Gods - Sun Dog
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM
ISO 100 . f/10 . 1/13 sec . @200 mm

God's Gold

God placed a gold mint in the sky-
Large and bright, a heaping store-
So earth can every day have more,
He keeps it high,

He scatters gold abroad at day
In shining beams; then far and near
Dandelions gold appear
Along the way.

This is God's gold dropped from the skies,
He gives it lavishly to earth-
O take it, spend it, learn its worth-
All ye with eyes!

by Annette Wynne

Actually, such a phenomenon is called Halo, which is the name for a family of optical phenomena produced by light (typically from the Sun or Moon) interacting with ice crystals suspended in the atmosphere (Source: Halo - Wikipedia).
This special Halo is called Sun Dog or Mock Sun, which is a bright spot to one or both sides of the Sun (Source: Sun Dog - Wikipedia). This one was only to the right side of the setting sun.


Information

Location: My location in Diex on Google Maps
Halo - Wikipedia
Sun Dog - Wikipedia

All my photos were shot with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM, SIGMA 150-600mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM C.

I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog,
have a nice evening,
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission

create hive blockchain account

Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here!


2020-08-20
[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.771025 lat 14.574151 long 20200820-Sunset-Diex d3scr)
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
172 Comments
Ecency