Rediscovering My Creative Roots: A Mural Painting Adventure

Yellow and White Abstract Indian Food YouTube Thumbnail (1).png

🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼

Hey, Hivers! Long time no see! I've been MIA for a while but am back with a renewed passion for art. Today, I'm sharing my first mural painting of the year, a project that pushed me out of my comfort zone and reignited my love for traditional art. I have a lot of content saved up from the past, but I haven't had the time to work on my blog posts until recently. I finally decided to resign from my job to pursue freelancing so I could take a break whenever I wanted. Some might question my decision, but I'm happy with it.
The Challenge Begins:
Tito, the dad of my boyfriend's close friend, is an art enthusiast. He had a vision for a large mural to adorn the downstairs wall of his home. Knowing my skills, he asked me to take on the project. The wall was too high for me to reach without scaffolding, so we decided to start on a more accessible wall at the back of the house.


Screenshot_20240727_151333_com.ecosia.android.jpg

I began the mural the following weekend, using a reference image we found online.


The Journey Begins:
As I began the mural, a wave of nerves washed over me. It had been years since I'd practiced traditional art, and I wasn't sure if I still had the skills. The rain made matters worse, as the paint wouldn't dry quickly. I had to wait an hour before continuing. As I worked, I tried to remember the techniques we used in previous mural projects. I felt a bit pressured because Tito and his family were watching me, and I was trying to hide my shaking hands!

Videoframe_20240807_103530_com.huawei.himovie.overseas.jpg

IMG_20240727_172459.jpg


To relax, I played with their dog, Maxine. Her friendly demeanor and love of belly rubs helped me calm down. Dogs truly are great stress relievers! 😍


IMG_20240807_134038.jpg


Overcoming Obstacles:
I continued painting despite the wet conditions. I was trying different techniques to ensure the mural turned out as expected. I believed in myself, but the rain kept delaying the project. Suddenly, I remembered techniques taught to me by a friend who had sadly passed away. With renewed confidence, I began to paint. The process was slow and deliberate, but I was enjoying every stroke.

IMG_20240728_160452.jpg

Videoframe_20240807_103437_com.huawei.himovie.overseas_edit_12118300434086.jpg


Screenshot_1.png


As I worked, I realized that the painting was diverging from the reference photo. I felt a pang of anxiety, but I knew I had to keep going. I focused on the shadows and depths, using black to emphasize the leaves and rocks.


IMG_20240804_090744-02.jpeg


Finding My Rhythm:

Day by day, I continued to paint. I experimented with different colors and techniques, finding my own rhythm and style. The reference photo became less important as I discovered my own vision for the mural. I was flattered by Tito and his family who were impressed.

Next came the waterfalls, which I was excited to make. I used a two-inch brush and pure white paint. My first attempt wasn't successful, and Tito was watching me. I felt anxious and my hands started shaking again. I tried to hide my nerves and pretend everything was fine. I was afraid of being criticized, even though Tito hadn't said anything negative.


FIRST ATTEMPT


IMG_20240804_190832_edit_10101540870331-011.jpeg
FINAL ATTEMPT


To make the waterfall look realistic, I covered it up with the color I used for rock added small strokes of white paint, and blended it to mimic the water flow. The result wasn't perfect, but it was better than my previous attempt.


Videoframe_20240807_103823_com.huawei.himovie.overseas_edit_11888054421100-01.jpeg


I was almost finished with the painting. I then added splashes to the bottom of the waterfall using a mixture of white paint and water. I used a brush with flexible bristles to create the splashes. I wasn't completely satisfied with the bottom part. I didn't add too many details because Tito mentioned they would be placing plants there.


IMG_20240804_190832_edit_10101540870331-01.jpeg


Finally, the mural was done! I was both exhausted and exhilarated. The outcome was different from the original reference, but I was proud of my work. Tito and his family appreciated it greatly, and I was overwhelmed by their kindness because they handed me cash that I had not expected.


IMG_20240807_133842-01.jpeg


A Piece of Thought:

This mural painting project was a challenging yet rewarding experience. It helped me rediscover my love for art and pushed me to step outside of my comfort zone. I'm grateful for the opportunity and can't wait to share more of my artistic journey with you in the future.

THANK YOU FOR READING!



🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼
ALL PICTURES ARE MINE UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED.
🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼



Beige Fun Birthday Wishes Instagram Post (1).png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now