Community service through sustainable development goals (SDGs)

My CDS,
(Community Development Services)

IMG_20231122_112250_403.JPG

FB_IMG_17027060726257185.jpg
Sustainable Development Goals volunteers

We are corp members serving our country in various states of the federation, luckily I was posted to serve in Sokoto state.
My posting to this state became one of my nightmares, I had always wanted to be close to home while serving my country, Why Sokoto?.

I haven't been far away from home in my entire life until this and my first time having to do so is in far away North, wow.
I found myself in a dilemma having to decide whether to go or stay, thankfully, the decision I made long ago to serve in whichever state I will be posted prevailed against others.

It took me two days by road to arrive sokoto from Awka. My being here on the contrary is gradually turning into blessing, experiencing the people and their diverse cultural and religious practices has left me in awe. I've got so much stories to tell concerning this journey but for now let me focus on my Community development Service (CDS)

I was allocated to be a member of the SDGs CDS, I was overjoyed because I had been a volunteer during my university days and continuing wouldn't be so much, I thought.

FB_IMG_17027085316153396.jpg
Unfortunately, what I met when I joined is nothing to write home about of an SDG group. It started off as nothing when my batch, Batch B joined.
it was as though people who were championing it's affairs left with the previous batch, batch C. No leader and no serious member. We just gather ever Wednesday, Presido will give us a very long talk of how the CDS is dying and the unseriousness of other members after which we sign attendance and go.

People don't attend CDS and the very few that came did so for attendance sake.
they simply do not have interest in it,
I won't blame them though, nothing is motivating them to.

I felt as though I had made a very big mistake choosing SDG as my CDS group
I just can't rap my head around the disorganisation.
I met the outgoing president to inform him of my deep concern and why he shouldn't leave the CDS in this state. up to 20 new corp members joined the CDS from batch B, so I felt we can start afresh from something.

I have been a member of SDGs while in school and I'm sure I can salvage the situation with my knowledge if he let me, i told him convincingly.

He allowed me address them after which I volunteered to talk on the 17 goals of SDGs the next CDS so that the new members will have a better understanding of what the CDS entails, maybe it will ignite a passion in them.

Next Wednesday, I prepared my speech and went with a doze of boldness and compelling voice in my speech, thankfully people who share same thought as mine supported my motions and began to speak up on how to revive the CDS.
We had our elections, batch A being in the major position while B supports in others.
I was elected as the finsec and the real work towards reviving the CDS started. I initiated the monthly dues payment of #500 which will be used to carry out our various projects since finance has been an issue. Thankfully the idea sold out.

Two months in the CDS and we have embarked on our first CDS monthly project. Using SDGs goal 2 and 3.
FB_IMG_17027061608938618.jpg

![FB_IMG_17027061501257211.jpg](
FB_IMG_17027061807722982.jpg

FB_IMG_17027061067566256.jpg

FB_IMG_17027061376307544.jpg

These pictures are from our first CDS project yesterday at sokoto state orphanage, aside presenting them with food items we volunteered to wash their clothes, clean the compound and played games with the kids. We sensitized them on the importance of being in a clean environment as it improves their overall health and wellbeing.

The compliance of my CDS members towards this project/outreach is one I'm so happy for, Everyone wanted to do something worthwhile for them.
More projects are coming, the flag off was all the motivation needed.

CDS Revived
We are all eager to come every Wednesday for CDS.
Am I truly a Gem?

#KopaJanel
#Sokotokopa

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center