League of Movies (First Edition | Week 03): Brokeback Mountain

source

I loved the Oscars. I was an innocent kid. As time went by, my perception of the awards changed. They were no longer the most important awards in cinema. When I realized that everything was a business full of injustice. The movie that deserves it doesn't always win. But the cheekiness happened in the 78th edition, when the winner was Paul Haggis' Crash (Who remembers that movie?) over the other four nominees. My favorite was Brokeback Mountain and it got stolen.

Brokeback Mountain takes place in the 1960s. Two men, Ennis Del Mar and Jack Twist, are hired by a wealthy rancher. They didn't know each other. They're both sent to tend cattle in the mountains of that vast, beautiful land. Each has plans to raise a family, with their respective girlfriends. Plans to marry and work in what they like, they were cowboys at the time. They become friends, they get to know each other during those days of work. And an attraction will arise between them. Physical and sentimental. Love. A forbidden feeling between two men.

Jack Twist knows from an early age what he feels. But he's a prisoner of social norms. He's spent his whole life hiding who he really is. On the contrary, for Ennis Del Mar it's a process of discovery. His homosexuality has always been present. But he had never extrapolated that feeling. You could say that he was mentally blocked. Jack was the spark that ignited the flame.

A love story between two men who work in a rural environment. By the time it premiered, about 15 years ago. It was a delicate subject and one that very few filmmakers dared to show so openly. Chinese director Ang Lee gave it its classic stamp. Transforming a story that could easily fall into a failed melodrama, into an exciting love story, told with respect and subtlety. Credit goes to the two fabulous actors who carry the weight of the film: Heath Ledger (sadly lost) and chameleon Jake Gyllenhaal. Among the supporting actors, the one who shines, especially in the scene where he discovers Ennis and Jack kissing, is Michelle Williams.

Source
Michelle Williams.

One of the elements that I loved was the music composed by the Argentine Gustavo Alfredo Santaolalla. I've said it in previous reviews, great works are the sum of a group of professionals dedicated to doing a first class job...


Love is universal, no matter what kind of people feel it. That's what captivated me about the story. I don't care if the protagonists of a love relationship are men or women. What matters to me is that the story is credible and makes me feel some kind of emotion. Unfortunately, by the year of its premiere, this obsolete machismo was still latent. I'm straight and I remember recommending the film to colleagues. They looked at me with a strange gesture. The ones closest to me made jokes. When I told them I left the cinema crying, they laughed. Ignorance is daring!. Prejudices still prevail in our culture.


I think the film was discarded by those who controlled the Hollywood film academy That it was nominated was already an achievement. But retrograde minds were not prepared to give the top prize to a story where two gay men kissed and had sex. It wasn't enough for them to deny her the award. They decided to give it to one of the worst films ever nominated for that award. Paul Haggis' simple, boring Crash would have preferred it to win Munich from Speilberg. It was a great disappointment when I heard the name of the winning film.

You want to participate in the @wiseagent initiative, Check this post: LINK there are all the instructions. If you like movies. Enter and go!!!

My Movie Rank 4.8/5

Trailer

Source

POSTER

Source


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now