Discovering a Small Venezuelan Corner in Sao Luis, Brazil

Hi, Dear Hivers,

Sorry I do not post very often lately. I am still struggling with some changes and conflicts, and I guess I overthink things more than needed before deciding to share them here. I want to thank @starstrings01 for his nice comment in an old post of mine. So, here I'm back.

IMG-20210515-WA0050.jpg
The sign on the kiosk reads "I am from Venezuela".

Diapositiva1.JPG

"Um Cantinho Venezolano na Ilha" (A small venezuelan corner on the island)

I have not been able to continue my martial arts training (long story) and I started a course to become a pharmacy technician. Hopefully that will give me the chance to get a job and some financial independence while I define my college plans.

In the meantime, I keep myself busy at nights attending the pre-college classes and yesterday, after having dinner with a friend at a fast-food restaurant, I remembered that another friend of mine had told me that there was a Venezuelan food kiosk in the area. We walked around and finally we found it!

IMG-20210515-WA0051.jpg
In the back some of the most recognizable Venezuelan trademarks, the woman from Harina Pan, which I drew once, and the kid from el Chichero, our favorite rice and milk drink. They had this nice roulete where customers could claim prices as special tokens for Mother's Day.

Unfortunatelly, we had already eaten, but it felt good to find a place that brings so many memories from my country. All the decoration, the smell of our kitchens, the accent of our people. I can't believe it took me over a year to find a piece of my culture here in Brazil.

IMG-20210515-WA0054.jpg

The food looks delicious. They are a bit pricy for my budget, but I promise to come back and write a full report of their menu. For now, I leave you with this mouth-watering arepas, our most distinctive dish. They import most of the ingredients for foods and drinks, such as malta, chichas, and fruit juices (that's their justification for the prices) and they guarantee the authentic flavor of our food.

The place was crouded; they have delivery services, and it will definitely be one of my favorite places to go and share from now on. It has been really hard to be away from home, away from family and friends, and places like "Um Cantinho Venezolano na Ilha" help me not to feel so alone, so isolated from my culture.

.

See you next time. Thanks for stopping by

.

Diapositiva1.JPG

.

Hive gif.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency