Bugs, Gate, Fall is Here - Thursday

It's like a blizzard with all the little blue flying bugs around the farm. They do this every year after the first solid freeze. They are smoky-winged ash aphids,Prociphilus americanus and they are annoying as hell. They go between the roots of the fir trees and the leaves of the ash trees through their life cycle through the year. I inhale more than I could count of the damn things.

IMG_20201008_111254.jpg
IMG_20201008_111303.jpg

After setting the posts for the gate I had to build the gate. I have sections of hog panel that I wired together, one on top of the other.

IMG_20201008_121916.jpg

I mounted the gate to the post but it is not exactly level, but it still will work fine.

IMG_20201008_122655.jpg

The meat birds needed their pen expanded so I about tripled it for them and they can now hang out under the bushes. They are going to be getting pretty big since we will only be able to butcher some of them this weekend and then it will be 2 weeks before we can butcher again. I have to give them a cover of some type with storms in bound so their food won't get wet and they will have a drier place to sit.

IMG_20201008_134618.jpg

With the gate up I installed the geo-fence between the trees and the gate posts. The stuff is super strong and also nice and tall to ensure the deer stay on their side.

IMG_20201008_141538.jpg

I ran the long piece through the woods up to the corner of the studio which is just out of view to the right. The fence connects to a tree near the corner and we have a walkway still.

IMG_20201008_141546.jpg

R picked some of their Parrisiene carrots. They grow fat round little carrots and do really well in rocky soil.

IMG_20201008_163600.jpg

My lone oak tree has turned and is looking amazing. It is my guarantee each year to change colors where the maples vary so much. This year they are going yellow but the oak always give me reds. In time it will be nice and big and will give us a big ball of color in Fall.

IMG_20201008_181433.jpg
IMG_20201008_181444.jpg
IMG_20201008_181454.jpg
IMG_20201008_181507.jpg

I have already been to town to drop off one of the likely last co-op orders for the season with cold coming. Today I am going to see about getting 6 bales of hay so I will only need a couple more to make through till next year. Clean up is continuing around the farm and weather prep is priority.

Pretty cool I am in 2nd place in my #rabona league with 9 fixtures to go.


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center