Healing the normalized violence of a hospital birth / Sanando la violencia normalizada de un parto hospitalario

Captura de pantalla 2020-06-13 a la(s) 12.31.47 p. m..png

When I arrived at the maternity gate, I was accompanied by a sad feeling of failure and the urge to give birth to my baby.

We were both exhausted. The contractions began the morning of the previous day, and it was already 8 in the morning the next day when I entered that hospital with my ID and medical tests in a folder that I had prepared just in case we had to leave.

And we had to get out. In my reading about home birth I learned that I also had to be flexible if the situation required it.

All the day before I was accompanied by my midwife and my husband, in the exhausting and powerful process of birth.

I broke the amniotic sac in the afternoon, and it was so violent, so different from what happened with my oldest daughter, that I was sure that soon my baby's head would come out, followed by a slippery body twinned with the umbilical cord.

But the hours passed, and despite the attentions, the efforts, the positions, the concoctions and positive affirmations, something happened in me, in her, which did not finish happening.

The dawn came between shouts and push that were fading, strangely. The contractions never stopped, but at that moment they lowered their intensity, showing me the scenario that I feared the most: going to the nearest maternity hospital, to being another victim of the violence of a hospital delivery.

During my first daughter's pregnancy, we took a respected labor course that shed light on the type of birth we wanted for our baby. Gala was born in a clinic at 3:21 in the morning. I always make jokes with that hour, because it was his countdown. At that time the cost was $ 300.

But then the prices of the clinics that guaranteed a respected delivery were over $ 1,500. In less than two years. An unhumanized amount that tortured me for a long time. An amount that I wanted until it seemed ridiculous, because if I had that money, I would not have spent it.

It was when we decided to investigate, learn about experiences and find the right person to assist us at home. A wonderful midwife with a lot of experience and knowledge with whom we immediately tune in, and whom I thank infinitely for her presence and support. She will be our friend for life! She also accompanied us to the hospital. And he was waiting outside, with the rest of my closest family.

DSC01402.jpg

I had an idea of ​​what to expect. But reality surpassed fiction, and everything got rougher as my body gave in to the protocols of that place.

  • !Hello! I'm giving birth, who can take care of me? -I told a nurse at the site where the doorman guided me.

She looked at me with a lot of annoyance and told me that I had to wait for a doctor to come check me up. It was my first crash. I leaned against a wall for a contraction as I saw large blood stains on the floor and thought of my house, which I had left spotless for Alexa's welcome.

A doctor came in and said she would make a touch to verify my dilation. We passed two cubicles with stretchers full of blood. I could not believe it. Why was it so dirty? Why didn't they clean? I am an obsessive person with cleanliness, and at that moment I started to feel bad, defeated.

They touched me in a third cubicle. Something that will have lasted about 5 seconds, because my baby was already close, I had already touched his head at home with my fingers.

From there they sent me to the delivery room, in a wheelchair similar to those crazy supermarket carts that go where they want. I collided with the railings of the circular ramp where they were climbing me. I really wanted to walk up, but I was naked from the waist down and it was a place with a lot of traffic.

What came was very painful, offensive and finally gratifying, for want of a better word to describe childbirth after all that suffering.

DSC01397.jpg

There were at least six women around me, pressing me to bid, with a book of offensive phrases that I suppose they are used to saying ... my screams and my pain were bothersome.

  • Your baby is going to die if you don't bid enough! It's going to suffocate!
  • How can you say that? She now breathes through the cord - I said.

Another woman came saying: you should have a tubal ligation, she is your second daughter and you cannot even bear this childbirth. The neonatologist threatened to hit me if I removed the oxytocin clinical pathway. I also responded annoyed, in the middle of the pain, lying on that table, as if I were on a crucifixion of legs instead of arms.

I told them that I was going to leave, that they were mistreating me, and they were very offended. Are we hitting you? Well, you will have to sign some papers because we will not be responsible for what happens to you and your baby when you leave here.

After that, a nurse came down to look for a relative "because the patient was not collaborating."

My husband and midwife came by. I knew it because one of them said: she came with her midwife, and they all put the face of Robert Downey Jr. in their famous meme.

Amazing! I was thinking. This hospital is less than eight years old from opening with the flags of respected childbirth. Murals of happy moms and tender, placid babies surround him.

They did not let my midwife pass, but my husband did. I still remember his horror face putting his hands to his face and it gives me some grace. Everything was so unusual! He didn't last long there. They took it out in a minute.

I thought I couldn't keep fighting and batting offenses. They performed the Kristeller maneuver on me several times, I felt hands entering me until my baby was finally born. They put it for a few seconds on my chest and I only managed to say forgive me daughter! I apologized for having received her in such a hostile environment.

What followed was a series of annoying, painful steps for body and soul. The doctor took the opportunity to teach another woman to sew the episiotomy. They both ignored my groans, and even my questions. I could see for a few seconds my placenta, the one I hoped to save to make a tincture with my midwife, for medicinal uses.

Soaked in an iodine solution and blood, I was transferred to another area in the wheelchair, to take a shower in a bathroom with a lot of blood on the floor. I did not have sandals and it made me very sick to have to do it. . I was still bleeding, in pain, but I was resigned. I just wanted them to give me my baby and get out of there!

But I had to stay that night, following the hospital protocol, with my baby in a shared room with a girl who had given birth minutes before, and whom I had heard screaming when I was arriving at the delivery room. I remember her baby's name: Angelica de los Angeles, I hope that little angel is fine!

Rugged details abound: chiripas, baths without water, group reviews without any privacy. Anyway. An environment prepared to bankrupt the bravest. But I was with my baby, she was healthy and looked beautiful. I did not feel bad, I did not cry, I felt a lot of adrenaline and I just imagined going home with her.

When I was able to leave the next day, I cried everything I had endured on the way home. And when we got there I saw my baby smiling. What a bless!

Since then I started a path of healing from the mistreatment received. The violence was so loud and fleeting, compared to the patient and sweet path of reconstitution that I am walking.

DSC01405.jpg

There is not much time for self-care in the company of two small babies. But I have concentrated on some actions to heal what I have experienced.

Follow the path of my body

I believe in the power of the mind to cope with difficult situations, but this time I paid more attention to my body and its recovery from the great task of creating and giving birth to a new life.

The episiotomy wound closed in a short time, the bruises on my hands went through various shades until they disappeared. My body showed me its healing path that my mind was accompanying without many questions

Life went on at a wonderful pace that did not stagnate in regrets or trauma from the past.

Appreciate the experience

Yes, I was grateful that even in these unwanted circumstances my baby was born healthy. I thanked those hands that still loaded with violence managed to take her into my arms. I felt gratitude for many things that released me from that load of rancor that I felt the first weeks. I have a beautiful family, a couple of beautiful babies that I love madly and fill me with joy.

Awareness of not being alone

It helped me to have a broader perspective of that practice as widespread worldwide as obstetric violence is.

It is happening now, millions of women suffering and will suffer the consequences of a perversion of medical power. Medical science has had many advances that have assisted humanity for centuries, but this has also cost the appropriation of natural processes, and the dehumanizing treatment, with the application outdated methods like the Kristeller maneuver dating back to 1867.

Small pleasures help

There is too much love in a home with babies. There is a lot of demand, yes, and a lot of tiredness too. But there is also an energy that revitalizes and continuous loving emanations that heal wounds from the past and land you in the present.

Much love and doses of edible and sensory pleasures have helped me leave behind that episode that occurred just four months ago. I think my husband and I have a light and humorous character, and that ultimately helped us cope with what we lived through.

Release discomfort

Speak it, remember it to elaborate it and get rid of it. The first few weeks I didn't want to talk much about Alexa's delivery. I was stuck in how I felt about it. They couldn't touch that key because I was sad and frustrated at not being able to give birth at home. I think several friends stayed with the "I'll tell you later".

Well, the passage of time has helped me to relate this experience without the tone of a victim, and this has helped me to unravel it a little from me and see it head-on without so many judgments.

This challenge of NaturalMedicine was also the excuse to write about it, and although some tears rolled while I remembered, I feel very good to leave this testimony, which in many years will be read by my daughters, whom I wish a wonderful birth at home, if it is her wish to be mothers of course :)

y80IohC.png

EN ESPAÑOL

Cuando llegué a la reja de la maternidad me acompañaba una triste sensación de fracaso y la urgencia de parir a mi bebé.

Ambas estábamos agotadas. Las contracciones empezaron la madrugada del día anterior, y ya eran las 8 de la mañana del siguiente día cuando entraba a ese hospital con mi cédula y exámenes médicos en una carpeta que había preparado por si acaso nos tocaba salir.

Y tuvimos que salir. En mis lecturas sobre el parto en casa aprendí que también tenía que ser flexible si la situación lo requería.

Todo el día anterior estuve acompañada por mi partera y mi esposo, en el proceso agotador y poderoso del nacimiento.

Rompí el saco amniótico en la tarde, y fue tan violento, tan diferente a como ocurrió con mi hija mayor, que estaba segura que pronto vendría a asomarse la cabeza de mi bebé, seguida de un cuerpito resbaloso hermanado con el cordón umbilical.

Pero pasaron las horas, y pese a las atenciones, los esfuerzos, las posiciones, los brebajes y afirmaciones positivas, algo pasaba en mí, en ella, que no terminaba de ocurrir.

La madrugada llegó entre gritos y pujos que se fueron apagando, extrañamente. Las contracciones nunca pararon, pero en ese momento bajaron su intensidad, mostrándome el escenario que más temía: salir a la maternidad más cercana, a ser una víctima más de la violencia de un parto hospitalario.

Durante el embarazo de mi primera hija, tomamos un curso de parto respetado que nos dio muchas luces sobre el tipo de nacimiento que queríamos para nuestra bebé. Gala nació en una clínica, a las 3:21 de la mañana. Siempre hago bromas con esa hora, porque fue su cuenta regresiva. En ese momento el costo fue de 300$.

Pero luego los precios de las clínicas que garantizaran un parto respetado estaban sobre los 1500$. En menos de dos años. Una cifra nada humanizada que me torturó por mucho tiempo. Un monto que deseé hasta que me pareció ridículo, pues de tener ese dinero, no lo habría gastado en ello.

Fue cuando decidimos investigar, conocer experiencias y dar con la persona indicada para que nos asistiera en casa. Una maravillosa partera con mucha experiencia y conocimiento con quien sintonizamos inmediatamente, y a quien agradezco infinitamente su presencia y apoyo ¡Será nuestra amiga toda la vida!. Ella también nos acompañó al hospital. Y se quedó esperando afuera, con el resto de mi familia más cercana.

Tenía una idea de lo que me podía esperar. Pero la realidad superó a la ficción, y todo se hizo más rudo a medida que mi cuerpo se entregaba a los protocolos de ese lugar.

  • !Hola! Estoy pariendo, ¿quién me puede atender? -Le dije a una enfermera en el sitio a donde el portero me guió.

Ella me miró con mucho fastidio y me dijo que tenía que esperar a que llegara una doctora a revisarme. Fue mi primer choque. Me recosté a una pared a pasar una contracción mientras veía grandes manchas de sangre en el piso y pensaba en mi casa, que había dejado impecable para la bienvenida de Alexa.

Llegó una doctora, y dijo que me haría un tacto para verificar mi dilatación. Pasamos por dos cubículos con camillas llenas de sangre. Yo no lo podía creer. ¿Por qué estaba tan sucio? ¿por qué no limpiaban? Soy una persona obsesiva con la limpieza, y ya en ese momento me empecé a sentir mal, derrotada.

En un tercer cubículo me hicieron el tacto. Algo que habrá durado unos 5 segundos, porque mi beba ya estaba cerca, yo ya había tocado su cabecita en casa con mis dedos.

De ahí me enviaron a la sala de partos, en una silla de ruedas parecida a esos carritos de supermercados alocados que van a donde ellos quieren. Chocaba con los barandas de la rampa circular por donde me subían. La verdad quería subir caminando, pero estaba desnuda de la cintura para abajo y era un sitio de mucho tránsito.

Lo que vino fue muy doloroso, ofensivo y finalmente gratificante, a falta de una palabra mejor para describir el alumbramiento después de todo ese padecimiento.

Eran al menos seis mujeres a mi alrededor, presionándome para pujar, con una cartilla de frases ofensivas que supongo están acostumbradas a decir... mis gritos y mi dolor les eran molestos.

  • ¡Tu bebé se va a morir si no pujas lo suficiente! ¡Se va a asfixiar!
  • ¿Cómo puedes decir eso? Ella ahora respira a través del cordón - le dije.

Otra mujer llegó diciendo: vas a tener que ligarte después, es tu segunda hija y ni siquiera puedes aguantar este parto. La neonatóloga amenazó con pegarme si me quitaba la vía de la oxitocina. También le respondí molesta, en medio del dolor, echada en esa camilla, como si estuviera en una crucifixión de piernas en vez de brazos.

Les dije que me iba a ir, que me estaban maltratando, y se ofendieron mucho. ¿Acaso te estamos pegando? Pues tendrás que firmar unos papeles porque no nos haremos responsables de lo que te pase a ti y a tu bebé cuando te vayas de aquí.

Luego de eso una enfermera bajó a buscar a un familiar "porque la paciente no estaba colaborando".

Pasaron mi esposo y mi partera. Lo supe porque una de ellas dijo: ella vino con su partera, y todas pusieron la cara de Robert Downey Jr. en su famoso meme.

¡Increíble! Pensaba. Este hospital tiene menos de ocho años de inaugurarse con las banderas de parto respetado. Lo rodean murales de mamás felices y tiernos bebés plácidos. ¡Es absurdo!

No dejaron pasar a mi partera, pero si a mi esposo. Aún recuerdo su cara de horror llevándose las manos a la cara y me da algo de gracia. ¡Todo era tan insólito! El no duró mucho ahí. Lo sacaron al minuto.

Pensé que no podía seguir luchando y bateando ofensas. Me hicieron varias veces la maniobra de Kristeller, sentí manos que entraban en mí hasta que finalmente nació mi bebé. La pusieron unos segundos en mi pecho y yo sólo alcancé a decir ¡perdóname hija!. Le pedía perdón por haberla recibido en ese ambiente tan hostil.

Lo que siguió fue una serie de pasos molestos, dolorosos para cuerpo y alma. La doctora aprovechó para enseñarle a otra mujer a coser la episiotomía. Ambas ignoraban mis quejidos, e incluso mis preguntas. Pude ver por breves segundos mi placenta, aquella que esperaba guardar para elaborar una tintura con mi partera, para usos medicinales.

Empapada de una solución yodada y sangre me pasaron en la silla de ruedas a otra área, para que me duchara en un baño con mucha sangre en el piso. Yo no tenía sandalias y me dio mucha grima tener que hacerlo. Seguía sangrando, tenía dolor, pero estaba resignada. ¡Sólo quería que me dieran a mi bebé y salir de ahí!

Pero tuve que quedarme esa noche, siguiendo el protocolo del hospital, con mi bebita en una habitación compartida con una muchacha que había parido minutos antes, y a quien había escuchado gritar cuando yo estaba llegando a la sala de partos. Recuerdo el nombre de su bebé: Angélica de los ángeles ¡espero esté bien esa angelita!

Detalles escabrosos abundan: chiripas, baños sin agua, revisiones grupales sin ningún tipo de privacidad. En fin. Un ambiente preparado para quebrar a las más valientes. Pero yo estaba con mi beba, estaba sana y lucía preciosa. No me sentí mal, no lloré, sentía mucha adrenalina y sólo imaginaba volver a casa con ella.

Cuando me pude ir, al día siguiente, lloré todo lo que había aguantado durante el camino a casa. Y cuando llegamos vi a mi bebé sonriendo. ¡Que bendición!

Desde entonces empecé un camino de sanación del maltrato recibido. La violencia fue tan ruidosa y fugaz, comparada con el paciente y dulce sendero de reconstitución que estoy andando.

No hay mucho tiempo para los autocuidados en la compañía de dos pequeñas bebés. Pero me he concentrado en algunas acciones para sanar lo vivido.

Seguir el camino de mi cuerpo

Creo en el poder de la mente para sobrellevar situaciones complicadas, pero esta vez le presté más atención a mi cuerpo y a su recuperación de la gran tarea de gestar y dar luz a una nueva vida.

La herida de la episiotomía fue cerrando en corto tiempo, los morados en mis manos pasaron por varios tonos hasta desaparecer. Mi cuerpo me mostraba su camino sanador que mi mente fue acompañando sin muchas preguntas

La vida continuaba a un ritmo maravilloso que no se estancaba en lamentos ni traumas del pasado

Agradecer lo vivido

Sí, agradecí que aún en esas circunstancias indeseadas mi bebé nació saludable. Agradecí a esas manos que aún cargadas de violencia lograron llevarla a mis brazos. Sentí gratitud por muchas cosas que me fueron liberando de esa carga de rencor que sentí las primeras semanas. Tengo una bella familia, un par de hermosas bebés que amo con locura y me llenan de alegría.

Conciencia de no estar sola

Me ayudó tener una perspectiva más amplia de esa práctica tan difundida a nivel mundial como lo es la violencia obstétrica.

Está sucediendo ahora, millones de mujeres que sufren y sufrirán las consecuencias de una perversión del poder médico. La ciencia médica ha tenido muchos avances que han asistido a la humanidad por siglos, pero esto también ha costado la apropiación de procesos naturales, y el trato deshumanizador, con la aplicación
de métodos anticuados como la maniobra de Kristeller que data de 1867.

Los pequeños placeres ayudan

Hay demasiado amor en un hogar con bebés. Hay mucha demanda, sí, y mucho cansancio también. Pero hay también una energía que revitaliza y continuas emanaciones amorosas que sanan heridas del pasado y te aterrizan en el presente.

Mucho amor y dosis de placeres comestibles y sensoriales me han ayudado a dejar atrás ese episodio que ocurrió hace sólo cuatro meses. Creo que mi esposo y yo tenemos un carácter ligero y humorista, y eso en definitiva nos ayudó a sobrellevar lo vivido.

Soltar, drenar, liberar el malestar

Hablarlo, recordarlo para elaborarlo y desprenderse de él. Las primeras semanas no quería hablar mucho del parto de Alexa. Estaba trancada en lo que sentía respecto a ello. No me podían tocar esa tecla porque sentía tristeza y frustración por no lograr dar a luz en casa. Creo que varias amigas se quedaron con el "te cuento luego".

Bueno, el paso del tiempo me ha ayudado a relatar sin tono de víctima esta experiencia, y esto me ha servido para desentrañarla un poco de mí y verla de frente sin tantos juicios.

Este reto de la comunidad de NaturalMedicine también fue la excusa para escribir sobre ello, y aunque algunas lagrimillas rodaron mientras recordaba, me siento muy bien de dejar este testimonio, que dentro de muchos años leerán mis hijas, a quienes les deseo un parto maravilloso en casa, si es su deseo ser madres, por supuesto :)

#NaturalMedicine #oc #spanish #cervantes #appreciator #healing #trauma #love #babys #empowerment

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center