My unforgettable experience of HiveBeeCon in Krakow

We returned from Krakow yesterday, and I needed some time to put my thoughts together as we have experienced so much in a couple of days only. Honestly, at first I was not so sure if our schedule would allow us to join #HiveBeeCon, but I'm so happy that we rearranged some things and were able to make it. We had a blast!

krolestwo.png Photo courtesy of @hallmann

Our flight on Friday was at 7:35AM, and therefore we had to wake up at 4AM to get to the airport on time. We didn't sleep much, so I took it easy on Friday and explored Krakow a bit. My husband, on the other hand worked all afternoon, and was exhausted by the evening. We went to bed early to recharge our batteries for the main event on Saturday.

20231006_090301.jpg

Our program on Saturday started early in the morning. We met with @zirochka, @livinguktaiwan and her husband, @mipiano and @ph1102, @priyanarc and @blind-spot at the train station, and off we went to Wieliczka Salt Mine. There we met with the rest of our group and had lovely discussions until it was our turn to enter the salt mine. I was so nervous due to my fear of closed spaces, but I was surprised about how relaxed I was feeling almost all the time (there was one or two tunnels that were a bit too narrow for my liking and the way up in the lift was not so much fun either - I still can't believe that we were 8 people in that lift). I'm sure that our amazing chatty group was the main reason of me being so calm.

We had an amazing tour guide who even remembered @priyanarc name as we almost lost her twice 🙂

And yes, there were more than ten trees. You know when you were there...

Salt mine.jpg Photo courtesy of @gtg

20231007_120304.jpg

20231007_114104.jpg

20231007_122633.jpg

After our tour we went for lunch and I loved that our group didn't simply agree to go to the closest restaurant, but they were determined to find a place where we could get some vegan food too. What an amazing community! After lunch we went back to Krakow and directly to The Kingdom from the train station. It was a short walk and I was excited to finally visit the place that I heard so much about.

I instantly fell in love with @krolestwo. It's such a cozy place that makes you feel like home. There are so many small details that you don't know where to look first. When I get caught up in the moment I usually forget to take photos. My phone spent the entire afternoon and evening in my backpack 🙂 Luckily, other people took many photos, so you can check out other #HiveBeeCon posts to get an idea about the place.

I had no idea how many people would join and I was surprised when somebody told me that we were over 40 people! What was supposed to be a small meet up turned out to be a such a big event. @hallmann was an amazing host and I enjoyed hearing about his work with @krolestwo. And I loved his home made Brisscola!

My husband loved the game of Novuss even though he had no idea how to play it. He made up the rules and many people played by them. Until @helicoptermoney came and explained them how to play it properly. Well, then it was not so much fun anymore as it became a serious business 🙂

I was so excited to meet my dear friends @zirochka and @livinguktaiwan. We met last year at HiveFest and I couldn't wait to see them again. It was like meeting old friends and we had so much fun! @zirochka is the most genuine hugger ever and I love her bear hugs. We met with @livinguktaiwan's husband too, and had interesting discussions about some of the UK policies. And those yummy cookies that I got from them!

ladies.jpeg Photo courtesy of @livinguktaiwan

It was also lovely to spend some time with @growandbow whom I met last year too. I got to know his better half @llunasoul this time too. They are such an inspiration and truly genuine people.

I have known @phortun for many years, but we haven't met in real life yet. I was excited that he was coming too, and that we could talk and get to know each other better. He is such an interesting person and I hope to see him soon in Prague again. Actually, I hope to meet his wife soon as well.

I and @phortun had a lot of fun with @deepresearch, talking about differences between our languages (Slovak, Czech and Polish) until late in the night. I have never realized how similar are Polish and Slovak.

I didn't talk much with @blind-spot this time, however he had a blast with my husband playing Novuss. I'm sure we will find an opportunity to catch up in The Netherlands soon. I was happy to see my dear @priyanarc. We met at HiveFest and earlier this year as well, and it's always lovely to catch up with her.

I also met new friends, such as @edje. I had a long discussion with him as he is such a thoughtful person with interesting insights, and it was so easy to talk with him.

Later in the evening we enjoyed a private piano concert by @mipiano. She is such an amazing and yet humble artist. She was nervous as she played for people that she cares about, but we couldn't notice that she was feeling this way as she played beautifully. I could see how proud her husband @ph1102 was. I met him briefly last year, but we didn't get a chance to talk, so I enjoyed sitting next to him in the train to Wieliczka as I got to know him a bit.

I didn't get a chance to talk to @evelynchacin as she was so caught up in the game of Novuss, but I loved her positive energy. I can imagine that her smile can brighten up any room. Who knows, maybe one day we will get to talk a bit 🙂

I talked with @jocieprosza and his wife @asia-pl about Hive community in Katowice and I admired their little boy who was sleeping in his carriage like there were not 40 people around him.

It was such an eventful evening! We were the last ones with @zirochka to leave @krolestwo. We only left @phortun and @deepresearch behind, but they were staying there for the night.

Many of us stayed in Krakow on Sunday as well, and we met up for lunch together. I suggested to go to a vegan restaurant and we were 11 people in the end! And they loved the food! This is how you make me happy 🙂 On the way from lunch I finally got to talk a bit with @m31 and @lemony-cricket. I saw them at HiveFest last year too, but didn't get a chance to talk with them. It was very cold, but @lemony-cricket looked so comfortable in his T-shirt. I was wearing my winter jacket... respect Lem!

Of course, I didn't forget to mention our wizard @gandalf. Nothing of this would have happened without him. And he might have changed my mind a bit about electric cars 🙂

gtg.jpeg

We said our goodbyes and returned to our daily lives. Even though HiveBeeCon is history our memories will be there forever.

Thank you for everything!
Cheers!
Martina

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
41 Comments
Ecency