The Joy of Gardening #2 | 2022

Community

We live in a suburban neighborhood outside of Metro Manila where the air is fresher, the traffic flows nicely, and people live a simple life. The slower pace and lower cost of living makes it an ideal place to be in, at least for me and my family. We are fairly new to the community; having transferred residence just before the pandemic outbreak, but the neighbors have been friendly and helpful to us and the local leaders regularly check up on our situation, which is a nice bonus.


Generosity

In the previous blog post, my wife's co-worker gave her a rose bush plant. I re-potted it in a bigger plant pot and, to my surprise, produced a small rose bud. I don't know if this will continue to produce and grow into a big and healthy rose bush, but I'm hoping for the best.

At the same time, a neighbor gave us some plants with beautiful leaves. I don't know what the plants are called but having it around was relaxing and a joy to work on. I also transferred the plants to a bigger plant pot because they were already too big for the tiny black bag containers that they were in. They look beautiful. Reminds me of nature and how natural it is for us humans to be generous to each other.

leaves_and_generosity.jpg


Plantito

If there is any consolation to being a "plantito", I think that it helps calm the mind and reconnect with nature. Working on it everyday, touching the soil with your hands, caring for the plants, and just observing and learning about it. How big it will become, the nutrients needed to make it healthy, its life.

FYI, I recently learned that "plantito" is a blending together of two words and literally means plant uncle: Plant + Tito (uncle) = Plantito. For the ladies, the term used is "Plantita". I know, I'm a little late to the game, but I'm enjoying this activity and that is what matters. So, the more I learn about it, the more I become interested in plants and plant parenting. Yes, there is such a thing, as I have also recently discovered. It just means "to care for house plants", which has been around for a long time already.

Going back to the plants given by our neighbors, here they are:

Plant #1

277253694_517710703123011_6750722810556308649_n_a.jpg


Plant #2

277854414_1103412150504395_5739656565723066974_n_a.jpg


Plant #3

275895077_501277174947514_7144108603907701657_n_a.jpg


Conclusion

As I have said already, taking care of house plants is a fun and enjoyable way to spend the day. Especially for those working from home, this can be inserted into breaks and can help the mind shift its attention away from work and stressors.

Having plants in the house is an easy and inexpensive way to purify the air around. It also helps make the surroundings more beautiful. But, like any activity, it is not for everyone. I didn't really enjoy taking care of plants before but I'm starting to get the hang of it and it's starting to grow on me. 😂

That's it for now. Have a great day everyone. Love and peace!

@juanvegetarian

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center