Leftover day: homemade oven fries with chicken satay and goat cheese salad



cl9pgt7lp00x50ikc4v033l6o_homemade_fries_chicken_satay_and_salad_1.webp
cl9pgtap900y01dkcc8aphdy2_homemade_fries_chicken_satay_and_salad_2.webp
cl9pgtdz200yn2kkc53i2fcre_homemade_fries_chicken_satay_and_salad_3.webp
cl9pgthba00xy0wkc2r3641cc_homemade_fries_chicken_satay_and_salad_4.webp

No waste

I hate wasting food. Lately, I've been paying a lot more attention to what we bought in the supermarkets. I have not tested that we bought the same things quite often without much variety in them. This means that it happened quite a few times that we were a bit tired of certain dishes. I've been trying a new approach lately.

Food prep

I've done this before back in Budapest but I didn't start it again after our arrival in Spain. I remember It was quite a lot of work to prepare food for the rest of the week. That was probably the reason that I didn't restart this yet. But now that I had to be more careful about my working hours to not overuse my hand, I decided to Focus on Food prep again. All the cutting has been done with my Right hand Anyway so my left hand can relax.

The plan

The plan is to make a badge of roasted quinoa as well as cooked rice, some baked chicken, sauces like curry sauce, saté sauce, and some other things, depending on the menu that week. To make sure we also eat enough veggies I plan on cutting different veggies at the start of the week as well. This way we can mix it up by using them in a salad. We can add something to leave some things out as well as use them in a chicken wrap for example.

Leftover day

Let me show you one of the leftover meals I made last week. I had a tiny bag of small potatoes that needed to be processed, as well as the ingredients for salads and I had some leftover chicken saté. I decided to briefly cook The homemade fries and then bake them in the oven until they were done, I also added the leftover sate sauce as a topping for the chicken and I made a goat cheese walnut salad with baby spinach add some olive oil on top and it's a wonderfully simple salad. Simple but Delicious, and another day without any food going to waste. A job well done If I may say so myself.

Routine

I've now been trying to prep food ahead for the second week in a row and I can tell you that it has decreased our grocery spending significantly to the point that I managed to add some sweet euros to our savings vault for the car, which made me very happy and motivated to continue with this journey. I always thought I didn't have enough time to stand in the kitchen that long but I'm slowly discovering that putting in the effort 1 part of the day a week, reduces the time I need to spend in the kitchen a lot for the rest of the week. On top of that, the days where we have to think about what we eat for hours, without any decent result have faded. I know what we have, I check what we can make with the ingredients and decide for that day what it will be. I'm now trying to add some new things to the mix to get in more variation over the weeks.

It's lovely to see no food/ very little food ends up in the bin while seeing our savings grow a little at the same time.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center