Rendezvous at the Rooftop and the Fear of Heights



clgrrkldt02d33xsz1qnv62j3_20230421_104826.webp
Beautiful sky and clouds seen up there.
clgrrlcy102a42usz3mx074cd_20230421_104426.webp
The skies and the landscape in the distant horizon was mirrored on the stainless water tank.
clgrrm9fm024hazszgj4gcdkp_20230421_104708.webp
Even the neighbor's house from the distance was caught in the reflection.
clgrrmz1f026i7asz66zq19kx_20230421_104734.webp
Fascinating how the blues and the whites complemented each other.
clgrrooin02a72uszhw6f2jhf_20230421_104203.webp

I had a fun rendezvous with the sky at my parents' rooftop on Friday. I was challenging myself to face my fear and I figured going up there is a good practice, or so I thought.

Theirs is a 3-storey structure, each floor 12 feet high so you may imagine the height from the ground floor through the top. It was quite okay when I went up. I didn't even have second thoughts when I brought myself to the staircase leading up. But it was difficult going down because by then, I can see things below. My knees trembled I almost cried and wished there was another way out, lol! It's funny now but I tell you, it was not then.

My trip up there was kind of worth it though because of these reflections I've seen and photographed. The day was beautiful and the sky clear and bright with white fluffy clouds.

There were 3 water tanks placed somewhere in the middle. They have different uses. One of it is made of stainless which is meant for their kitchen. It's protective covering (sticker) was peeled off, exposing its glossy parts which mirrored some of the things around including the sky, the rusty tank, landscapes among others. I was mesmerized and sort of forgotten that I was up there while photographing them.

But then when it was time to go back down and oh my my! Heart thumping, legs felt like being pinched they ached differently, and it was as if everything around was swaying, even myself. I had to close my eyes for minutes trying to assure myself that I'd be okay, lol! It wasn't too bad when I was up there with Tofi and JL for the first time last month! I don't remember being too scared, but I wonder what changed that yesterday, there was just so much fright.

I can trek mountains alright but it's different with buildings, bridges and other structures. I swear it feels so scary. Anyhow, I was glad to have done something I thought was impossible. Will I ever get myself to climb up there again? I'm not really sure. I guess only time will tell. At least I've got these to show that once upon a while, I was there. Lol!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center