Rush Hour sunset



cl7qvz8pn00ad1lm71xiucun0_Urban_sunset.webp

It's 6:00pm; rush hour

Rush Hour used to be stressful for me. It's probably the same for many folks out there. By the end of the work day people are worn out and eager to get home; some drivers can have road rage.

I decided that being able to walk home to my peaceful oasis was more important to upgrade my life. So I made a decision.

I decided to respectfully quit my job, with 12 weeks notice. Plenty of time to find a replacement for me.

I took some savings.

And decided to work for myself.

I'd never done this before, so it was a bit like venturing into the unknown, outside of my comfort zone.

But isn't that what life is about?

They say A Ship in Harbor Is Safe, But that Is Not What Ships Are Built For

Do you want to know who said that?

There's debate over wether it should be attributed to John A. Shedd, Grace Hopper, or Albert Einstein.
I'm not entirely sure who to attribute it to, so I'll let you check out Quote Investigator to see what they have to say.

Here's another one by the great emperor Marcus Aurelius. This one is more about getting your butt out of bed, but also talks about doing what you were meant to do in life:

Bust of Mrcus Aurelius DEA:G DAagli Orti:De Agostini .png
A bust of Emperor Marcus Aurelius. Photograph: DEA/G DAagli Orti/De Agostini via Getty Images

“At dawn, when you have trouble getting out of bed, tell yourself: “I have to go to work — as a human being. What do I have to complain of, if I’m going to do what I was born for — the things I was brought into the world to do? Or is this what I was created for? To huddle under the blankets and stay warm?”

So you were born to feel “nice”? Instead of doing things and experiencing them? Don’t you see the plants, the birds, the ants and spiders and bees going about their individual tasks, putting the world in order, as best they can? And you’re not willing to do your job as a human being? Why aren’t you running to do what your nature demands?

You don’t love yourself enough. Or you’d love your nature too, and what it demands of you.”

-- Marcus Aurelius, Meditations


I don't have a fixed salary anymore. I live off the money I receive from providing services to others.

I don't have a car anymore; I walk and use public transportation.

But I have the privilege of enjoying this free sunset during 6:00pm rush hour.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center