Wildcrafting a Tension Tray at Sunset: Finding Simplicity and Joy in Nature’s Materials

Sometimes in life, you just want to try everything. With so many resources around, it's exciting to imagine all the things you could create!

I decided to make a tension tray that I could use to dry my gatherings.

Since we have lots of hazelnut trees around, I thought, why not use hazelnut? It might not be the usual choice for woodworking, but it’s flexible and strong enough for the job, even if it’s not as robust as traditional hardwoods.

I found a tree with plenty of twigs.

The sun is setting. By the hazelnut tree, twisting the twigs. I found it very therapeutic.

I twisted them to the size I wanted.

A good-sized twisted hazelnut and the sun set.

I placed two strong hazelnut sticks in the middle.

I weaved, alternating over and under the middle twigs to create tension.

Pretty straightforward.

Having lots of twigs accessible has made the process less stressful.

When done, I cut the ends.

The result was a sturdy tray. I did not need to put knots to secure them.

It was getting dark; I went home with my new tray, ready to be used.

Working with natural materials is both simple and satisfying. It’s amazing how turning something as humble as twigs into a functional, sturdy piece can make you feel so accomplished!

Why not give it a try with the twigs around you? It’s a fun and easy project.

Edit:
I am pleased to see my work from last night on this bright morning and use it to dry my stuff. I recommend this useful project.

Have a lovely day,
Mariah 🍃😊💗

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center