Out of the Blue

01.jpg


It's around noon in the bustling Philippine city of Davao. And after savoring a sumptuous lunch at a local restaurant, I'm onboard a metered taxi on the way back to my booked hotel. However, while cruising through alternative routes to evade heavy traffic, we end up passing by a quiet neighborhood in the suburbs.

02.jpg

03.jpg

04.jpg

As the midday sun brightens the cloudish skies against a stunning backdrop of metropolitan structures, tidy streets, green foliage, with a few bystanders, suddenly out of nowhere, an enormous set of white letters grabs my undivided attention.

05.jpg

“What's that interesting spot over there?” I ask the driver while pointing at a sculptural artwork with words that portray “LIFE IS HERE” on top of “PHILIPPINES”.

“Oh, I'm glad you asked. That's a botanical garden. We also call it the Life is Here Park,” he says.

“Wow! Really?” I respond while scratching my right cheek. “I’ve never heard of this amazing landmark yet. Can we stop here instead of proceeding to our agreed destination?”

“Okay Sir, no problem.”

“You see, I'm really crazy about plants, flowers, trees, particularly about nature, and the environment. So I'm sorry for your inconvenience.” I smile instantly as I thank him, hand over the taxi fare, and alight from the vehicle.

06.jpg

07.jpg

08.jpg

09.jpg

Unbelievably, despite its small size, this green stretch of land is visually stimulating as clearly evident in the lush surroundings my discerning eyes can see.

Truth be told, I just love surprises! Who doesn't, right? Whether they're in the form of gifts, humor, stories, unpredictable people, or unforeseen twists of events, I welcome them with an open attitude. They may not all turn out according to your wishes, but at least I exert effort in embracing them as part and parcel of the human experience. This unexpected adventure is one of them, for sure!

Now, join me as we peel off the appealing layers of this remarkable urban project, and together let's discover what it has to offer to visitors. Alright?

10.jpg

Strolling towards the park’s central exhibit of artistic letterings, I immediately notice some well-known plants, shrubs, flora, and trees surrounding its proximity. There are ornamental vegetation, palm trees, a variety of ferns, grass species, and a handful of sculpted bushes, and artistic terrains. Although I don't remember the majority of their precise names, some of them have a visual familiarity that I find in common gardens of the Philippine countryside. Do you know what they're called?

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

Other vital elements of landscape architecture also exist such as decorative walkways, creative stoneworks, elaborate mosaics, soil mounds, and park amenities which I'll mention a bit later.

Grateful for his courtesy, the park’s assigned caretaker of the day leads me to pockets of tiny green leaves that seem ordinary at first glance. I wonder what they are.

14.jpg

15.jpg

Unfortunately, because it lacks periodic maintenance, he confesses to me that these decorative bushes used to look like this:

leaves sculpture.jpgSource

It's a pity though that neglect has suppressed the exquisite beauty of this specific artistic landscape. Hopefully, park authorities will revive its former glory soon, not wasting the excellent opportunity to be admired and appreciated by more guests of this renowned botanical garden.

16.jpg

17.jpg

As I continue peeking into the backside of this font sculpture, a certain species captivates me. It's recognized as the Bird of Paradise (aka Crane Flower). With its multiple stems and banana-like leaves spreading outwards that mimic human arms including flowers that lure exotic birds, it's one the most flamboyant ornamental plants I've ever encountered. Do you cultivate one in your region?

18.jpg

19.jpg

20.jpg

21.jpg

22.jpg

Likewise, a middle pavement for walking is also visible in this park space. Nearby, a couple varieties of palm trees including the famous fan palms with their iconic leaves, plus the towering bamboo canopies provide ample shade from the scorching heat, helping to minimize the climate’s humidity.

23.jpg

24.jpg

Without a doubt, this secluded area is also an ideal setting to hangout, relax, and enjoy a casual picnic as what these kids are doing. Is it possible?

As I venture deeper into the rear portion of this green habitat, another “out of the blue” moment stops me in my tracks.

25.jpg

“A children's playground!” I exclaim while spotting its colorful display of equipment not too far ahead.

26.jpg

27.jpg

28.jpg

29.jpg

30.jpg

31.jpg

32.jpg

33.jpg

I spend around 30 minutes here to watch the kids play and curiously observe the different playground apparatus that are available for their amusement. So much fun awaits!

34.jpg

35.jpg

After that thrilling activity, I didn't hesitate to return to where I began my tour to complete the rest of the park’s exploration.

36.jpg

37.jpg

38.jpg

39.jpg

40.jpg

41.jpg

42.jpg

43.jpg

44.jpg

45.jpg

46.jpg

47.jpg

48.jpg

49.jpg

There are more sculptural masterpieces of leaves, twigs, plus branches of shrubs and bushes distributed at prominent intervals for ornamentation purposes. Artistic sculptures of archways, fenced perimeters, and recognizable animals are also obvious to one’s keen eyesight.

50.jpg

51.jpg

52.jpg

53.jpg

54.jpg

Moreover, apart from the colossal trees that nearly shelter the whole vicinity, I approach the park’s one and only gazebo, also termed as a pergola or covered pavilion where patrons capture photo-ops or merely pass the time to unwind.

55.jpg

56.jpg

Along with them, seating and tables in the shape of cutaway tree trunks are also free to use for folks from all walks of life. Awesome, isn't it?

57.jpg

58.jpg

It's an absolute blessing indeed while traveling to accidentally stumble upon a hidden jewel of Mother Nature like the Davao City Botanical Garden. Otherwise, its alternative title of the “Life is Here Park” is also justifiable since it encompasses cultural diversity, culinary flavors, friendly natives, architectural splendor, and the myriad of environmental treasures merged as one valuable package from this humble location on the planet.

59.jpg

60.jpg

Where else can sudden surprises be as spectacular as this unforgettable experience? Tell me.



About the Author

SOE AUTHOR BIO FOOTER.jpg

Architect | Environmentalist | Adventurer
Creator of the Architecture+Design Community on the Hive Blockchain

Copyright © 2020-2024 storiesoferne. All rights reserved.


Originally posted on STORIES OF ERNE™. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments