A FEW PORTRAITS OF ONE DRY PLANT

Dittrichia viscosa is a plant that appeared in several of my older posts because it is a widespread plant here in my area. However, the Dittrichia viscosa in today's post looks different.

(Enlargeable)

It isn't green anymore.

(Enlargeable)

It's brown, it's dry, and the yellow flowers have turned into a multitude of fluffy, parachute-like seeds.

(Enlargeable)

When the seeds get dispersed by the wind, the remaining flowerheads look a lot like flowers again. Not like the real, fresh flowers, of course, but a new kind of desiccated, mummified ones.

(Enlargeable)

These photographs were taken more than a decade ago. In 2009.

(Enlargeable)

I'm still using my left hand to write the post, so this thing, while being considerably better than what I published yesterday, is still very short. However, at least this time the photographs are my work ... like almost always here on HIVE.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments