My Day 1 NaJoPoMo 2024: Virtual Fishing Journal

Hello! I am Asynckronism and I am participating in the NaJoPoMo 2024 challenge! I've learned a lot about journaling since I started participating in the previous years and now have a better understanding of writing in a journal. The thing is, for me, A journal has to have a specific purpose and it definitely helps when the journals look and feel match the designated purpose.

For instance, here is my 'Virtual Fishing Journal' I like to participate in fishing in Video Games and will often listen to audio of whatever I am researching or sometimes record myself speaking about a subject. I looked up Fishing Journals to get a better understanding of the layout and found some videos of how a fishing journal is utilized. It all looked pretty neat!

The Fisher catalogues time of day, weather conditions, water conditions/type, things of interest seen, felt, and heard, fish reeled in/sighted, and the location of a found fishing spot.

It can be as simple or as intricate as the fisher requires the journal to be. The examples I saw were varied from fisher to fisher but one thing I noticed was that when they were showing off a page from their journal there was often a quick recheck of the page shown to make sure they weren't showing off sensitive information... Such as their personal fishing spot.

For Video Games its obviously not that convoluted as there are often set parameters. But interesting things still occur in-game while fishing! I put the main details at the top of the page while the rest is for description, what I caught, If any interactions between players occurred, what I did while fishing, and other minor details.

It's something I wanted to try out when I got this book in particular because the way it looked and how the pages felt seemed like a rugged profession type journal. If you've seen my posts here, I obviously don't wander into the wilderness to look for treasures as much as I should so I decided to fill it with details of a profession that are often in games I play. Fishing spots are usually far out from player hubs. And if there are players in the area they are there for a reason, so interaction is more likely pop up if I strike up conversation.

I recently haven't had much reason to fill this journal as a lot of newer games lack the quality, depth, and randomness of fishing that older games managed to capture and hone to a fun activity. What what is available is either not in my ballpark of games I play or too realistic bordering on a simulator type game.

Lot's of games I have played and do play are in the midst of getting updated with fishing! All I need to do is wait for those updates to release!

Can't wait to go 'virtual' fishing again soon!

Good luck to all challengers for NaJoPoMo 2024!

fishnajopomo.jfif

Shamelessly stolen from my own post linked above

IMG_0064.JPG

Example of my layout use.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center