THREE PLANTS - THREE LOVELY LITTLE DETAILS

I'm about to show you ... well, I don't have much to show tonight - just three photographs I took over a decade ago. Each shot presents a different plant, or more precisely, a detail of a different plant. Not only do I have very little to show but there is even less that I can write here. It looks like another micro post is about to be published about half an hour from now.

The first plant is the Lonicera implexa. a climbing shrub that covers other shrubs, drystone walls, and small trees in many places in the area between my hometown and the surrounding villages.
The photograph was taken in the period when the flowers are falling and the violet little things that will grow into orange-colored fruits are appearing.
You can see only one withered Lonicera implexa flower ready to fall in this opening shot.

This flower was in its prime when the photograph was taken. It belongs to the Melittis melissophyllum, the herbaceous plant that grows in shady, deciduous forests. I probably took the photograph in one of the wooded areas near the village of Valtura, about seven to ten kilometers from where I live.
In the case of this plant, the main pollinators are bees and moths.
The shape of the flower makes the pollinators get enough pollen on their bodies.
If I was small like a moth or bee, Entering the flower would probably look a bit like entering the mouth of some strange alien animal.

The third and the last plant is the Salicornia fruticosa. This one grows in the intertidal zone and gets regurarely flooded by the sea. Here you can see the juicy young shoots growing on the dry, wooden base of the plant.

AND THAT'S IT. I MANAGED TO ACCUMULATE 300 WORDS THAT MAKE SENSE WHICH I THOUGHT WAS AN UNREACHABLE GOAL WHEN I STARTED THE POST. AS ALWAYS HERE ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center