The joy of preparedness: my experience with AOCs in exams

There's this level of joy that hits differently when you see the questions that have been set in an examination and they are mostly what you studied for.

IMG_1968.jpeg
my friend and I

For the first time since I gained admission to the university to study English in the university of Uyo, a lecturer had compassion and gave us AOCs(area of concentration) on the three courses he handles. He even went as far as leaking some exam questions from the other course lecturers who taught alongside him even though that could cost him his job.

When he performed this generous act, I personally didn't take him seriously because there's a popular Nigerian meme that mocks students who studied only on AOCs given by lecturers. Because of this, I read partly on the area of concentration he gave and vastly on other topics but surprisingly when the first paper for the first exams was set before me, I figured that all the AOCs he had listed for that particular course was set and TBH I'd say I was lucky to have read on them so I little knowledge on how to structure my answers and after that exam, I took the ready of the AOCs seriously.

Today's paper got me smiling all through. When I saw the questions I blessed the lecturer as I penned everything down. I did a lot of cramming yesterday and this morning because I didn't want to write anything based on understanding. I gave it to the lecturers word for word just the same way they taught us.

Snapchat-377176843_1.jpg
me in one of the boring classes

For the first time I wrote happily till I used up all the pages in my answer booklet. My hands were aching but I was yearning to write more😂. I had to stop myself at some point instead of collecting a supplementary sheet. The issue of supplementary sheets is one that has to be handled with much care because if not guarded properly, there can be a mix up and the supplementary sheet will be lost, which of course could result in loss of marks for incomplete sentences. With this, I had to fit my answers into a single answer booklet while dishing out strong points to back my answers to the questions I answered.

I came out of the hall smiling and feeling satisfied. Even though I won't hold any lecturer by his/her word when it comes to AOCs, I'll just read on them and also read on other topics because most times these lecturers disappoint us and set things that haven't even been treated in class and just because it's in the course outline, they feel we should have read about it and go ahead to set the questions. Sometimes they even make these questions compulsory and that can be very annoying (y'all can relate I guess😂).

Anyways I'm just happy about my papers today. I'm really expecting some good grades that's if these political lecturers don't play gamble on my sheet😂.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center