High school? There is more to life than book

High School huh?? It is one of the stages of education where I had my best experience. T.I Ahmadiyya Senior High School, Kumasi-Ghana; was the high school I attended which was really fun and educative meanwhile it was hell too, especially at the early stages when you are still a fresher.

Being a fresher was never easy ooo charleyšŸ˜…, I remember when I was made to kneel down and carry a chop box on my head by my own form 1 colleague just because I didnā€™t know he was a fresher toošŸ¤£šŸ˜Ž.

How can I forget when a final year student asked me to impregnate a pillow he gave to me and told me to make sure the pillow gave birth to identical twins before he returns from the bath house. I was really lashed with belt in my palm just because I couldnā€™t do the abnormal thing he asked me to do, it was hell for me that night.

Hmmm, sometimes before you return from the bath house, your chop box will be shaken vigorously just for your gari, shito, milo, sugar and other stuff to be mixed up so badly to the extent that it will be a waste since it cannot be consumed againšŸ˜Ŗ.

An example of a student who has been bullied and also came to meet his stuff has been shaken and mixed.

There are lots of experiences I had and also I made some mistakes too, there are stuff I wished I had done it differently but then, I lacked experience and also I wasnā€™t guided properly either than that I know I would have done better.

This is my senior high school
photo credit: @yahuzah

To begin with, I lacked proper planning and self-discipline. Why would I say that? I didnā€™t really have any particular strategy or formula I was using to control my movements and activities in school. I didnā€™t have a personal study timetable or the schoolā€™s lessons timetable for classes.

I just carried all my books to class and sometimes I just made predictions for some classes. Due to the lack of study time table, I was always studying just mathematics so I was always scoring higher marks on mathematics but the remaining oneā€™s I donā€™t want to talk about it because it was even funny seeing some of the resultsšŸ˜†.

Instead of me even planning what to wear to school the next day, I always felt like after all Iā€™ll get something to wear and boom, before I realize, I would be found wanting the next morning. I was always taking last minute decisions and I was proud thinking I could work under pressure meanwhile I would have been a better student if I had planned everything accordingly.

Another thing I would have done differently was that, I would have opened myself up to new experience. I realized that I stuck to what I knew already and it never crossed my mind to try and learn new things I had passion for, I just sat and admired the people doing it meanwhile I could have tried.

I was a very good footballer and I had pace but I never joined the athletes who were running to train with them. I really had passion for that one too but I thought because I was a good footballer it was enough. I remember I used to race (run) after preps with some of my mates but I always run passed them by far to the extent that they started calling me by the name of the fastest human at our school but I still didnā€™t train with the team because I thought it wasn't necessary.

I also enjoyed it when I see people dance especially during entertainments, it really turns me onšŸ˜…. I had some moves but it wasnā€™t enough so I kept it to myself, I could have given it a try and maybe I would have done better after sometime but as usual, I still kept it to myself thinking football was enough.

Another point worthy to mention is that, in as much as studying for better grades was the basic reason I went to high school, my social life that is; my relationship with people and having fun also mattered.

I have come to realize that good grades donā€™t say it all but social skills really matter too. I was over concentrated with my results which distracted me from having lots of fun and leaving my free life to its fullest potential. There was this nice girl I frequently taught mathematics, it got to a time that we developed feelings for each other but I never spoke up although she also gave me a green light of her wanting me.

I thought it would just distract me so I ignored all the signs she gave me and I was focused on my results because I thought it was everything I needed. The funny thing was that I was still always learning maths because I knew it better.

If I had taken my chances that time, I would have had lots of fun and some kisses toošŸ˜‰, it wouldnā€™t have been just books but also a stronger social relationship. Who knows tomorrow? I could have made lots of friends who might have even helped me more, perhaps in the near future. It was after senior high school I realized there is more to life than bookšŸ˜‚šŸ˜.

These are my mates but Iā€™m not in the picture because I wasnā€™t socializing.

If I actually had a second chance to high school I would have planned my life better and created a study timetable and keep a copy of the lessonā€™s timetable too. I would have always prepared ahead of time and avoided last minute stuff.

I would have also taken chances to learn a whole lot of stuff I was interested in which might help me explore and be good at a lot of activities. Moreover, I would have built self-discipline and improve my socialization skills by making a lot friends and being in relationships in order to help me leave a better life since Iā€™ve now realized there is more to life than book.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center