When Enemies Become Friends: My High School Crush

I was what you would call a nerd in high school. I didn't socialize much, and I cherished my personal space.

It all began when I was admitted to high school. On the first day, I met him; he was snobbish and cold, my classmate, and later, my seatmate. On that fateful day, the school principal asked him to show me the way to our class as the class prefect. I expected him to help me carry my locker or stool as I struggled with both, but he didn't. So, I asked nicely. All I got in reply was a cold stare, which annoyed me, but I kept quiet.

He showed me to the classroom, and before he left, he said, "If you want, go and carry your locker and stool, or leave it there for other students to take." That made me even angrier, but I maintained my cool as a new student, not wanting to start creating drama. However, that was the beginning of our battle.

After introducing myself to the other classmates, the form teacher asked one of the boys to get my locker and stool. When he did, the teacher instructed him where to place it, beside the rude boy's locker. I simply sat, not without giving him a mean look that said, "Avoid me."

We were enemies for the rest of the term; he didn't speak to me, and I didn't speak to him. But by the end of the term, my disdain for him grew even more. Throughout my primary school years, I always topped the class. So, it was a shock when I discovered I came in 4th out of 31 students in JSS1A. An even bigger shocker was realizing that the rude boy took the first position.

That feeling when your enemy progresses, that was what I felt. I just wanted him to vanish. Apparently, he was the most intelligent student in class. Our silent treatment and "mind your business" stares continued throughout our stay in junior secondary school.

Things suddenly changed a bit during our first year in senior high school. We were paired in the same chemistry practical group, and I was the leader, the best chemistry student as well. He had no interest in chemistry, even though he was the brightest student in the class. During one of the practical, he was finding it difficult to solve a problem. Since I was the group leader, he had no choice than to ask for help, but he didn't and I didn't care a bit; I just hated him for being snobbish and topping the class.

He finally asked for my help after asking other classmates, but he didn't get a satisfactory answer. At first, I pretended as if he wasn't talking to me until he tapped me on the shoulder. Upon turning, my first question was, "Why are you even talking to me? Don't you know how to stay away and mind your business?" He apologized and left, but later returned with the chemistry teacher.

Apparently, he went to report me to the chemistry teacher, which made me even angrier, adding it to the list of his offenses. I helped him out, and he performed well. After school dismissal, he came to apologize for everything and asked if we could be friends.

I forgave him, and we became friends, not just because he apologized but because he was intelligent and wouldn't bore me with nonsense talks.

However, he did. After that day, he kept coming to my desk, boring me with stories of scientists and space. On one of those days, I asked him why he was so cold the first time we met. He opened up and told me he was the only child, and all his life, he had been left alone, so he became accustomed to his space and lacked social skills. He couldn't make friends, and he apologized again, saying I was one person he admired a lot. That was it; he confessed to having a crush on me but didn't know how to say it.

We became good friends afterward. He and one girl in my class became my closest buddies and seatmates throughout senior high school. We were and still are very good friends.

Nothing like a relationship or dating, just a cool friend I made in high school. We don't even talk much over the phone, as many would. I mean, close friendship doesn't mean you'll literally talk to the person every second, minute, and hour of the day or does it? Certainly not.

I am grateful for having a friend like him. He literally helped me with my studies, and I made it clear to him that I would never date him. He was okay with it, too. I had other guys crushing on me in our class or school, but I gave them all a deaf ear. Did I come to school to date? Hell no. And if you're wondering who my high school crush is, It's you, yes you.

credits
Image from freepik

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center