Presented a Seminar on The Right Ventricle as a Therapeutic Target in Pulmonary hypertension

Hello everyone!!

It's amazing to be here again. Just through the requirements that qualify one as a graduate, a seminar presentation is one of the criteria for that. To me, I see it as an oral examination, which happens to be one of the parts where even the bright students in a written examination find it hard to coordinate themselves and answer questions afterwards, which will be of added advantage to the student during grading. Sure, the phobia is real. I wouldn't say it's not, except the grade isn't of importance to you. First, there was this fear in me, but I had to suppress it, knowing that composure also matters.

IMG_4301.jpeg

IMG_4445.jpeg

Another part that helped me was practice. Countless times, I stayed in my corner, trying to see how fluent I could be. For some of us who hardly do the talking but prefer writing, when such an opportunity presents itself, only studying hard and practicing to achieve perfection is the only option. I know some people may carry out the presentation out of free will, but for my kind, the case is different.

IMG_4296.jpeg

IMG_4332.jpeg

A Brief Introduction to the Area of Concern

Starting with the dysfunction of the right ventricle being a major predictor of death and how the response of the right ventricle to treatment determines survival, I made a brief head on information that kept them clinging to what I was to say next. Not rushing into what wasn't necessary, I gave a brief highlight on the anatomy of the heart, which encompasses the chambers, the muscles, blood supply and drainage, and lymphatic drainage as well.

IMG_4303.jpeg

Moving further, I was able to carry out a concise representation of the interior of the right ventricle before going into pulmonary hypertension proper and the interventions. I was able to look at the interventions in two dimensions: the pharmacological interventions and the non-pharmacological interventions. Further looking at the implications and other necessary information, I concluded by saying, "Since the right ventricle is very crucial for pulmonary circulation, targeting it has a promising therapeutic effect in pulmonary hypertension.

IMG_4440.jpeg

IMG-20230928-WA0044.jpg

For memory sake, the images were picked at random to help balance things out.

Thank you for reading!!
Do well to follow up for more interesting feeds.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now