I may have an addiction to getting ink.

Yo. How goes it, you digital degens? It's me, dilapidated skeleton man, back to drop another post and bless your crusty feeds. It's been a hot minute since I made a post about getting a new tattoo, mostly due to monetary restraints (Don't worry, when Hive moons I'll use some of it to cover myself in art I'm sure.) and the fact that my tattoo artist is always booked like 3-4 months out. But, it's finally time again, fucko's. So, strap in and lets check out what I have forever etched onto my body today. (Well, not really today. But, you know, just shut the fuck up.)

So, my tattoo artist did some flash art designs that were one offs back for the last Friday the 13th. I believe he made 6 or 7 designs for it and after someone claimed one, it was gone forever. The designs ranged a lot, but were all spooky themed or horroesque at least. He did those at a discount price, and all but two of them were scooped up within a few hours. At the time, I was already booked to get my Courage tattoo done so I wasn't in a great position to drop another $150-200 on an additional tattoo, so I held off on trying. During my appointment, I found out the tattoo I was interested in was still there and decided if it was still there during my next appointment I'd yoink it. Especially since my tattoo appointment was the day before Halloween. Well, low and behold, it was still there so ya boi is now the proud owner of this piece of art.

Normally I'm not a huge fan of spiders. But, I just really like the artwork for this since it has the vibes of something in Australia that would ambush you and probably fuck you up. If you're not familiar with horror movies or the slashers of the 80's, then you might not recognize that the body of the spider on this tattoo is one of the masks used for Jason Voorhees (Well, kind of) in the Friday the 13th franchise. The colors have been messed with though to make this a bit more fun. Originally, he had some very matte colors in plan for this tattoo which just consisted of a flat yellow/green/black for the head and legs with white and red for the mask. A few days before my appointment, he hit me up asking if we could try some kind of retro colors and asked if I had any ideas. The first thing that popped into my mind was the NES Friday the 13th game, as Jason's color scheme is blue and purple in the game, which ended up working perfectly for my tattoo!

Oh, and for you guys who are interested in seeing the process of the tattoo, don't worry. I grabbed pictures throughout the session, so no one has to feel blue balled. Here are some photo's showing the initial outlines.

One detail I like a lot about this tattoo as well is that he decided to change up the spider web colors from just plain black to this nice sky blue which blends together with the other colors quite well, since they're all in that cool color category. Another option we were considering was orange to sort of contrast with the cooler colors. But, he just said fuck that and went this route. Anywho, the next photo I grabbed was the shading portion right before we started doing the colors.

Honestly, this tattoo could have been pretty rad as well if we had just done full shading I feel like. But, I think it ended up perfect for me with the colors and I've been super stoked over getting it even 2 weeks out now. It was my longest tattoo session thus far, coming in at around right 4.5 hours in total. Which really isn't that long in the grand scheme of things. But, it was definitely very tiring and I feel like any sessions longer than 7 or 8 hours would obliterate my fucking soul. Pain wise, this wasn't too bad either. Once we got down to the portion closer to my hand it started to have a pretty rough sting with involuntary muscle spasms. But, otherwise it was pretty solid.

Anyways, I just wanted to post and share my NES Voorhees spider because I thought it was rad and figured some of you guys might enjoy checking it out. I have many tattoo's that I plan to get done over the next 4 or 5 years, so I'm sure you'll get to see plenty more. Originally I thought about trying to keep some kind of cohesive idea with the tattoo's on my arms, but I think I'll just get random shit that I like that has meaning to me. Though, maybe I'll get more horror bugs and cartoons on this arm specifically, who knows. I'd love to see some more tattoo's being posted up in this community, though I guess a lot of you folks out there are either omega boomers who think I'll be banished to super ultra mega Hell for staining my skin, or you're just tattoo virgins, which is fine. I guess. Ugh. Sooo, maybe that'll have to be a long term goal.

But, yeah. Thanks for checking out my ink! Hope you guys are all doing well!

See ya!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now